BACKYARD PUMPKIN CARVING DATE

halloween 2014

There are just a few days in the calendar where the day dictates the activity, and the Saturday before Halloween is one of these for me. It is pumpkin carving day!  There’s nothing I love more than waking up to a beautiful fall day and planning something fun to do outside. Sadly, the majority of our trees have already lost their leaves, but that day the color scheme of the backyard was absolutely gorgeous.

This is the third year since Dan and I started the tradition of carving pumpkins for Halloween, and I love the fact that we’ve got to do that in 3 different cities (the first year we were living in Atlanta, the second in Los Angeles, and now we are in Chicago!). We also decided we were going to take the same goofy photo every time, so this way we could see how much we have changed over the years. I just compared the pictures and realized that Dan’s facial expression when trying to kill the little pumpkin gets more and more threatening each year haha. Take a look here!

We spent a couple of hours working in our designs, taking a million pictures for the blog (of course!), and playing around in the backyard with our pumpkins. It was such a fun date, I’d do it all over again. Fall has been so good to us here in the midwest. Lots of fun, friends and festivities!

 

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

pumpkins

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

The guts are our favorite part… Just gotta dig your hands right in there!

 

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Yael Serena

halloween pumpkin

halloween pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

Yael Serena

halloween 2014

Have you noticed the bandage on my finger? Pumpkin carving is not a real thing until you don’t cut yourself 😉

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

halloween pumpkin

Halloween 2014, fall, chicago, pumpkin

halloween pumpkin

What activities did you do for Halloween this year? Did you post a picture of your pumpkin design? If so, let me know in the comments – I’d love to see it!! 🙂

feet from shore

13 thoughts on “BACKYARD PUMPKIN CARVING DATE

  1. You guys look great and are having so much fun! I like the expression on Dan’s pumpkin. Sadly, yours looks like it caught a cold and its nose is running. Did you guys get many trick or treaters? We got none- of course we got home late so are not really sure, but there was no sign of anyone having visited. And about 3 different cities in 3 years; are you two ever going to settle down?

  2. Good to see you posting again! I am glad you have established some Halloween traditions. Do you find it creates more of a sense of belonging here once you have gone through a cycle? I am certainly finding that now and Halloween was our first even where I have been able to repeat the traditions we established last year.

    We went to the pumpkin patch to select our pumpkins and have some other spooky fun (http://pictinpa.wordpress.com/2014/10/20/picking-pumpkins/) and then the kids chose their designs and I carved – the pumpkins were too tough for me to let them loose with the big knives. We ended up with two Minecraft Creepers, a horse and Jack Skellington. Sadly I did not include any photos of the carved pumpkins in my post about our Halloween (http://pictinpa.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/our-halloween/) which was a bit of an oversight.

    • Since the moment I met Dan, I’ve always felt like I belonged in two different places – Spain and wherever he was. I have had the incredible luck to surround myself with incredible people here, so part of me feels like I’ve been living in the States here for a long time 🙂

Leave a Reply

