OCTOBER, I’M BACK!

Apple picking, fall

Hello guys!

After being absent for quite a while, I’m so happy to say that I’m back for fall! A new season is a promise of so many possibilities and new adventures, and you know what really puts me in a fall mood? Apple picking!

Last weekend I got my plaid shirt out of the closet and visited an apple orchard for the very first time. Now I totally understand why so many people are obsessed with it – it’s the perfect way to kick off fall! My family and I headed out to a lovely farm located in a little town in Wisconsin, and we had an incredible day. The sun was out and the air was crisp but yet warm since it rained the day before. It was amazing to be able to savor the scenery, to step on crunchy and colorful leaves, and to capture the moment with pictures. However, my favorite part was when I jumped up on Dan’s shoulders and risk my life to pick up the best ripe apples (okay, maybe I’m being a little dramatic here, but I was seriously convinced I would have an epic fall when I was up there). I’m actually not a big fan of apples – or any typical fall recipe that contains the word “pie” or “cinnamon” in its title really -, so I’m still trying to figure out what to do with so many of them (any suggestions?).

After the adventure in the orchard, we went to check out the farm’s market where we picked up some fresh vegetables and Dan and my in-laws enjoyed a fresh cup of cider and homemade apple cider donuts. It was such a wonderful time. Now I can’t wait to go to a pumpkin patch!

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Yael Serena

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

Apple picking, fall

pumpkins, fall, halloween

IMG_2376

IMG_2335

IMG_2345

IMG_2340

IMG_2361

IMG_2339

IMG_2353

IMG_2405

IMG_2399

IMG_2379

Happy fall everyone! 🙂

 

feet from shore

27 thoughts on “OCTOBER, I’M BACK!

  1. Welcome back! We’re going apple picking in a couple of weeks, also for the very first time ever… can’t wait 🙂 Great pics, lots of smiles and great memories being created.

  2. Great to see you back! I love Autumn and am also loving the fact we are gaining new Fall traditions by being somewhere new. I am also not a fan of apples in baking (and detest cinnamon)

  3. Hi Yael,

    I’ve missed you, friend! Beautiful photos as always. I’ve never gone apple picking or visited a pumpkin patch before. I need to add those to my fall to-do list for sure! Oh and I absolutely loooove plaid for fall. Your plaid shirt is gorgeous!

    xo

    • Hi Donna! I missed you too, I’m sorry for being MIA. I’m sure apple orchards in Toronto are gorgeous, you should gather some friends and convince them to go 🙂 Truth to be told, I wasn’t planning to wear a plaid shirt that day (I had an orange sweater on instead) but my sister in law told me I had to wear one so we could all match! 🙂

    • Hi Uncle Spike! I’ve been busy with my Master’s thesis and also spending some quality time with my family back in Spain. I had a great summer, it was nice to be able to disconnect from technology for a while. I missed you guys so much though, so it feels good to be blogging again 🙂

      • Good excuse then 🙂
        I never did get around to such academic adventures, but I’m married to one, and I spend much of my time as a copy-editor (proof-reader) for grad students doing their theses for Masters and Doctoral degrees (keeps me out of mischief), and for academics generating articles for journals or conference papers.

  4. Hey Yael, I am happy you are back online. I must say, it hasn’t been easy for me to post often the past weeks/month or so.. But I gotta tell you, Dan and his family have to learn how to share you with the rest of the world, we’ve been missing you! (:
    That said, these photo’s are lots of fun. I have never been to an apple orchard but you made me curious about it. It can be fun to try out! Be careful climbing handsome guys, as long as you choose the men who will catch you if you ever fall you’ll be alright.
    *wink*
    FreeCarnation

    • Hi Mariska! I’m sorry for my lack of posts, I missed you guys too. I’ve been quite busy with some projects and also spending time with my family in Spain. I wanted to be in the moment and disconnect a little bit from technology, but I’m glad to be back. I’m going to catch up on your blog now, I’m sure there are a lot of awesome posts I need to see!

      Apple picking is a lot of fun if you go with a nice group of friends or family. In the orchards there are always a lot of people having picknicks and playing random games. You can sense the happiness in the air! 🙂

  5. Yael!! Beautiful photos. So lovely to see you and Dan enjoying yourselves. Apple picking is definitely very American. How many apple recipes can you come up with for those apples?

    • Thank you so much! Apple picking was a lot of fun. Do you have apple orchards near LA? If so, you guys should definitely do it! I’m not sure what to do with those apples, maybe I’ll challenge myself and try to make an apple pie for the rest of the family 🙂

  6. Thank you for sharing such exciting moments! I love fall and all the new seasons we have to look forward to! Your pictures got me excited to soon visit our pumpkin patch down here in South Florida. Down here in Florida, we have to embrace all the little things fall brings since we don’t get much weather change nor do our palm trees turn colors! haha. Beautiful Post!
    ❤ Jen

  7. This looks like such a gorgeous and fun day. I love all things Autumny and still need to make it to an apple orchard this year! We are opposites, tho- my fave desserts are those involving anything with apples, pumpkin, gingerbread, cinnamon, etc. 🙂 glad you’re back!

  8. Beautiful as always! Growing up in Ohio, we’d always go apple picking this time of year. Sadly, we don’t have them in Texas. Too hot I guess. I do love me some cider. Enjoy it!

  9. Hi, Yael and welcome back! I’ve missed you and your amazing photos! It looked like such a fun day with perfect weather, friends, and fruit!! I love how you’re all wearing plaid shirts!! ❤

Leave a Reply

