FIRST RAYS OF LIGHT

Miami sunrise, Florida

In California, the thing that I liked the most about my daily routine was getting home after a long day at work, putting on my flip flops and a cozy outfit, and heading straight to the beach to enjoy everything that the ocean had to offer. I was addicted to the feeling of scrunching sand under my feet, to seeing hundreds of pelicans diving into the water and feeding, to the sea breeze tingling my face, to the sound of waves crashing on the rocks, and of course, to the stunning sunsets and its romantic colors.

While in Miami, I was dying to relive some of those feelings again, so one of the days I woke up Dan crack of dawn in the morning and begged him to drive with me to the beach and observe the sun rise over the beautiful city. I’m so thankful we managed to get out of bed in time and didn’t miss the beauty of the first rays of light; the peace that I felt while I was sitting in front of these views was indescribable.

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami sunrise, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami sunrise, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Miami, Florida

Witnessing a sunrise is always an inspiring experience; knowing that the previous day’s slate has been wiped clean and you get to start afresh. When you are the first to see the sun tentatively cast its glow over the horizon line, somehow you feel like, for the whole of that day, the sun belongs to you. If someone told me I had just one more sunrise or sunset to witness, I would not know which one to pick. I love them both so much for the different meanings they convey to me. I love sunsets in the arms of the person I love as the last rays kiss goodnight to the night sky. And I love sunrises because it always makes me appreciate the new possibilities and opportunities the new day holds for me.

So, what do you say folks – SUNRISE or SUNSET? 🙂

 

feet from shore

31 thoughts on “FIRST RAYS OF LIGHT

  1. Stunning pictures as always! They made me miss living near the sea… oh I would like to live again somewhere close to the sea, California would be a great idea 🙂

    Even though I really love seeing the sunrise, sunset is my favorite… it makes me think that I had one more day to live, and that it ended all right…and of course it gives the hope for a brand new day!

  2. Lovely words and gorgeous photos. I love both sunrises and sunsets but tend to find the colours and light in sunsets to be more dramatic visually so those have the edge.

    • I agree with you in that sunsets are more dramatic, so they are probably better for photography purposes. However, I love the way I feel when I’m watching the sun rise; knowing that I still have a bunch of hours left in my day 🙂

    • Thank you Andrew, I’m glad you like today’s pictures. I’m with you, being able to see how the colors in the sky change once the sun has already set is one of my favorite things about sunsets as well!

  3. Beautiful shots…nothing quite as beautiful as a sunset, but to catch a sunrise and experience the dawning of a new day, there is nothing better. Very well done, all these shots.

  4. Hmm.. tough decision, but I’m definitely more of a morning person, so I’d probably say sunrise…. although sunset tends to have more colors. What a complex! Haha, jk. This is a cool post. 🙂

  5. Sunset for me.. at least I think so. I find a sense of peace and rest when sunset comes around. Yet Sunrise brings a sense of being thankful for another morning along with peace! tough question! Hope you enjoyed Ft. Lauderdale, not your typical Miami beach luxury but definitely more family friendly and in my opinion a more sense of peace. I grew up in ft. Lauderdale. Hope you enjoyed your stay in FL!
    ❤ Jen

  6. Tough choice, and although I prefer a starry night, I’d go for sunrise. The fulfilling sense of opportunity can not be anymore promising and welcoming!

    Beautiful photos, well-composed and simplistic as usual 🙂

Leave a Reply

