ONE YEAR

Yael Serena

Have you ever woken up without knowing it was actually your birthday until somebody or something reminded you of that? That’s pretty much the sensation I got this morning when I received an email from WordPress saying that Feet from Shore turned 1 today! Yep, one year ago I sat down and tapped out this blog’s very first post. Crazy!

To be honest, when I opened up this little space I had no idea what I was doing, or if I would keep it for more than a week.  I just thought it would be nice to have a place where I could post my pictures and explain the adventures at the other side of the ocean; like if that way my family and friends would never have to feel far away from me. But somehow, this blog became so much more than that for me. I started to look at the world around me through different eyes; I realized that life is so full of adventure and little lessons I might share with others. This blog has helped me to find happiness and beauty on the simplest things, and also pushed me to get out of my comfort zone and experience new things, to look at every day happenings of my life in a new light.  We all have things worth to share, and if you think you don’t, then it’s time to re-evaluate your life and spice things up a bit.

My life has changed a lot over the course of the last year (I moved from Spain to LA, and then from LA to Chicago – among other things!); and even though I don’t post as much as I used to, blogging still brings me so much joy. So today, friends, is the perfect occasion to say thank you to those who have been with me along the way, it really has been a pleasure. I’m excited to see what the coming year holds; I have the feeling is going to be amazing :).

“So fill your heart with what’s important and be done with all the rest.”

 

feet from shore

39 thoughts on “ONE YEAR

  1. Thanks to you! Of course it helps us to feel you closer…!
    This new year will bring to all of us amazing projects and experiences.. I promise you! 🙂
    Happy birthday!

  2. Congratulations! I felt the same way a while back when it happened to me! I could have sworn I didn’t start it until July of last year, and WP sent me the notice in May, but oh well. I know it has been over a year for me now. You explained exactly how I was feeling about blogging. Have fun!

  3. Many happy returns, from this recent one year old to another 😀

    To be honest, not many blogs hold my attention. I find many a bit boring or predictable, but yours is pretty darned good. The bright, professional layout, excellent photography and well written posts still capture my attention, so in my book, you have got yourself a good blog going Ms Yael.

  4. Congrats on the one year anniversary! Like you, my blog has become more than I would have imagined (cheers to that!). My best friend lives in Chicago and I’ve only heard great things! All the best.

    • It’s so good to hear you feel the same way about your blog Michael. Keep up the good work! 🙂 Chicago is awesome, especially at this time of year. You should visit your friend and explore the city, I’m sure you’d love it!

  5. “So fill your heart with what’s important and be done with all the rest.” I really like this. Happy late birthday! Glad I stumbled upon your blog. Your name is lovely!

    Chels // {heartnatured.com}

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment Chelsea, I really appreciate it. I stumbled upon this quote on Pinterest and I thought it was just perfect. Sometimes we spent way too much time worrying and thinking about little things that are completely pointless; and this quote is the perfect reminder that we all should invest our time and energy in things that make us truly happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

