HAPPY 100TH, WRIGLEY FIELD!

Cubs Chicago

Two weeks ago Dan received the coolest email ever -> subject: “Mr. Schallmo, Wrigley Field invites you to celebrate its 100th Birthday. Book your 2 free tickets now!”. I usually don’t get stuff for free; so when I do,  I get sooo excited (and who doesn’t, right?).  Even though we are White Sox fans (well, Dan is – I just like to say I am too to get some extra kisses), we couldn’t say no to such an awesome gift!

The Chicago Cubs went all-out to have a birthday bash. They celebrated the anniversary in style by wearing throwback 1914 Chicago Federals jerseys and inviting former athletes and dignitaries who significantly contributed to Wrigley Field’s history. We heard it would be quite the party, so we arrived at the stadium early in the morning to fully enjoy the pregame ceremony and get free cupcakes & replica jerseys that were only available for the first 30,000 fans. They only gave away XL sizes, so I’ll be using that shirt as a nightgown, ha!

The atmosphere in the stadium was incredible; everybody was so happy and joyful that it truly felt like we were celebrating somebody’s birthday. The biplane flyover was so cool, and so was the balloon release in the fifth inning when “Happy Birthday” was sung at the ballpark. There were hundreds of them!

Wrigley Field was definitely the place to be that day, regardless of the results on the field. Winning the game would have been nice, too, but you can’t have everything, I suppose.

 

Cubs Chicago

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Cubs Chicago

Yael Serena

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Yael Serena, Dan Schallmo

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Dan Schallmo

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Yael Serena

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Yael Serena

Wrigley Field. Chicago Cubs

Yael Serena

Which baseball team are you? Have you ever caught a baseball during a game? That’s my #1 goal next time! 😛

feet from shore

18 thoughts on “HAPPY 100TH, WRIGLEY FIELD!

    • We are on the same page then. I always ask Dan to explain me what it’s going on when I see that people start yelling and going crazy. I like the vibes of the stadium, interacting with other fans and of course the hotdogs! They are reaaaally good in Chicago!

  1. Great photos, as always. My three oldest kids are actually off to see their first ever baseball game this Sunday. It will be interesting to see what they make of it.

      • I’m staying home with the four year old this time, as it’s an outing organized by a club one of my kids attends and us for school age kids only, but we all plan to go to a minor league game more locally as a family some time. I haven’t been to a baseball game since 1995 so that will be fun.

  2. So cool! I have always wanted to go to a game there. The closest I got was the bars across the street (Cubby Bear). I did go to a game at Fenway Park in Boston once when they played the Yankees. That was cool!
    I’ve never caught a ball, but once saw a woman near me get hit in the head by one and knock her over. And another time I saw a dude take a line drive right in to the stomach. Gotta pay attention at baseball games!

    • Geez, looks like people around you are targets on a baseball field! My brother-in-law was so close to catch one the other day at a White Sox game, but it slipped out of his hands and the guy seating right next to him got it. What a bummer!

  3. These photos are soooo beautiful, Yael! And free cupcakes…yay! I’ve only been to a baseball game once here in Toronto. I’m gonna try and go again this summer. I don’t have a favourite team really. I’m more of a football (soccer) fan. xo

  4. Great post and incredible photos…I love Wrigley Field. Was lucky enough to arrange enough of a stopover in Chicago to capture a day game and then enjoy the great night. A beautiful city is Chicago, and you do it justice!

  5. Go Yankees!! I almost caught a foul ball at a Cubs game – my only game ever in Chicago. It hit my hand (as well as a few other hands) and I couldn’t hang on. #fail I was that guy.

Leave a Reply

