TIME TO SAY GOODBYE, SWEET CALIFORNIA

Sunset California

Hi friends!

I’ve finally found some time to sit in front of the computer and take a break from one of the craziest weeks of my life. If you follow me on Instagram (you can find me at yael_sp), you probably already know that I’m not living in California anymore. I knew that my situation in the City of Angels was temporary, but I’d have never imagined that it’d end so soon. Let me put this in context for you…

Dan and I moved to Los Angeles last JulyΒ after being across an ocean for almost two years. Β It was time to start building up our life together and end with the distance that made us feel constantly sad and incomplete. In terms of my career, I’d always wanted to gain international work experience as a way to grow professionally; so the idea of working for an American company was something that excited me so much too. The opportunity came, and I didn’t hesitate for a moment – I packed my stuff and hopped on a plane. I still remember the moment when I landed and Dan was waiting for me at the airport with a rose in his hands… Knowing that I would not have to worry about saying bye to him again for a long time gave me so much peace and relief. It felt unreal.

Our life in a new city began, and we loved everything about it. There is something very special about Los Angeles; I don’t know how to properly describe it but there is so much energy, creativity and passion in its air. I’m happy to say that we made the most of our time there, explored and traveled around when we had the chance, and enjoyed the laid-back lifestyle that California had to offer. On top of that, we also had the luck to meet incredible people who made our experience unforgettable and supported us through everything.

Sweet California

However, Dan and I reached a point where we realized that our dream jobs and best career opportunities were not there for us. I absolutely loved my life in the city, and I would be lying if I didn’t recognize that leaving LA has made me so sad. But sometimes, you just need to stop looking for temporary instant gratification and make sacrifices that lead you to your lifetime goals.

Our new journey started last Sunday, when we were brave enough to leave our paradisiacal life in LA behind and drive cross-country towards Chicago with all our belongings. We arrived yesterday evening (finally!), and our family was waiting for us with warm hugs and a delicious dinner.

I know the following months are going to be very challenging, and there will be a million things that I’m going to miss about my life in California. But you know what? I made myself a promise. I decided to focus on the positive and overcome the negative thoughts. The fact that we have now a new place to explore and call home, family close by to spend time with, and a beautiful life ahead of us; are enough powerful reasons to smile and be excited about the future.

Life is good.

feet from shore

76 thoughts on “TIME TO SAY GOODBYE, SWEET CALIFORNIA

  1. Good luck to you in Chicago.
    I personally preferred Chicago to LA, but I don’t know how I would have reacted to the terrible winter of this year.
    I loved Chicago for all the Millenium park and the beach next to the High rise building. Can’t wait to see your view on the city.

    • I love Chicago too, it’s definitely a great city. The only thing that I’m scared about is the weather. I’ve always lived in places with mild winters and I’m not sure I’m going to survive here! Millenium Park is one of my favorite spots too, I can’t wait to go there again!

  2. I know what it is like to move around and leave so many great memories and friends behind. The first coming months are going to be very difficult, I am trying to warn you, not scare you. You will be very emotional and question yourself.. But don’t worry, all beginnings are hard and you’ll get there. Keep your eyes and thoughts on your goals and feel lucky because you have the love of your life by your side to support you. I wish you all the best and I hope you are continuing the blog in Chicago also!
    Mariska
    http://www.CoralynxBlog.com

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging words Mariska, they really mean a lot to me. I’m convinced this experience is going to be amazing, and I’ll surely continue my blog here! πŸ™‚ Have a great day!!

  3. Just by your blog I can tell you are a positive person with a great outlook on life. Although you may miss California right now, because of your energy and attitude you are probably going to have the time of your life and make lasting memories where you are now. I wish you the best in your new adventures! Janet

    • Thank you so much for your sweet words Janet. The ability to focus on the positive is something that I’ve been developing over time (and I am still!) as it takes a lot of strength and determination. There are always two different ways to look at things, the positive and the negative, and I’ve already learned that focusing on the second one doesn’t make the situation any better.

  4. I applaud the courage you demonstrate by your willingness to go outside your comfort zone and experience new things. New cities, new countries, new languages…and always seeming to keep a positive outlook on everything. You are truly a very inspirational person.

    • Thank you so much Bob, your words made me smile a lot. Stepping out of my comfort zone is always difficult and scary, but it brings so many good things to my life. That’s the way I learn and become a better individual.

  5. Congratulations and good luck! Embrace the change, give thanks for the wonderfulness of the West Coast, and look forward to the opportunities and challenges of your new start. Appreciate the differences, enjoy all the new wonders this change brings. Think of all the new photo opportunities and explorations, too. πŸ˜€

  6. Chicago is going to be great! Can’t wait for new posts to come! Any ideas what you will be doing (job, school) there? πŸ™‚ I’ll shoot you an email later!

  7. Wishing you and Dan everything good in your new venture or should I say adventure. You embrace every new experience with a great joy of life. I am flying out to see my sister at Christmas so I will be able to see ,once again , the sights of Santa Barbara but until then I have your lovely photos to look at. Safe Journey into your new life.

    • Thank you so much for your wishes, I’m sure we are going to embrace this new journey and make the most of it. My pictures of Santa Barbara will always be here for you; let me know if there is anyone in concrete that you like and I’ll send you the original file πŸ™‚

  8. Animo!!! Chicago is a wonderful city! You will find your way!!! And, as you said, you are not alone there!!!
    I understand your concern about the weather…But you are lucky…You arrive in Springtime! Still almost one year to settle down !!! Mucha suerte!

    • Muchas gracias! That’s so true, I missed the worst part of the winter and that makes me happy! Can’t wait to see Chicago in spring and summer, I bet is beautiful. Feliz primavera para ti tambiΓ©n!

  9. Good luck on your new adventure! I’m sure you will make the best of the situation!
    Now I get to share all of your new adventures around Chicago and see what that area has to offer!

  10. “But sometimes, you just need to stop looking for temporary instant gratification and make sacrifices that lead you to your lifetime goals.” LOVE what you wrote. So true. You will shine wherever you go, girl!! Best of luck and I can’t wait to see pics of your new home. πŸ™‚

    • I’m totally with you. A lot of people have sent me emails in the past talking about how much they hated LA when they visited; they couldn’t believe I took the majority of the pictures of my blog in the city. I always say LA has a lot of charm, you just need to know where to find it!

      I’ll definitely check out your blog often, I’m missing California so much already! πŸ™‚

    • Shocking news, I know! Everything happened so fast that I haven’t had time to fully absorb it myself yet. I think we both are similar in that we love the beach and the California lifestyle so much, so you can understand how tough this transition will be for me. But as I said in my post, I’m going to focus on the good things that Chicago has to offer; and who knows, maybe one day my path will lead me to sunny California again πŸ˜›

  11. Hope the very best to you and your family, Yael! In my true opinion, with your wonderful and sweet attitude and perpective of things, you will have luck wherever you and your loved ones are! Enjoy your new stage of life,
    Anna

  12. I haven’t been paying attention and didn’t realize you were moving. Chicago, great place if you like city life. I am about 4/5 hours north of you. I am from here originally but lived in So Cal for 22 years. I am thrilled about my move and decided to be thrilled about the weather and change of seasons. It makes a difference to decide to accept things you can not change. Weather and age are two. I absolutely love winter and snow. Just get the right clothes and get out in it. Take your camera and shoot all. I think my best shots are from winter. I live in the north woods but I can only imagine the city in the winter has some great material to shoot. Good luck!! Looking forward to watching your journey continue in Chicago.

    • Thank you so much for sharing your words of wisdom Deb. As you well said, it’s not worth it to waste time thinking about the things one cannot change; but rather invest that time improving the things one can control. Even though there is still a little bit of snow in the ground, winter is almost over here. I’m excited to see what summer is like in this new city, and document it through my photos. I wish you the very best as well πŸ™‚ Cheers!

  13. Wishing you and Dan all the best. I have just dropped by to catch up with you and can see that life is taking an exciting turn for you. Looking forward to following you on your journey.

    • p.s. in Chicago, there is a neighborhood festival somewhere every weekend. Great photo ops if you do street photography. I lived in Wicker Park and Bucktown. When you go to Bucktown, raise a glass to me at Lottie’s Pub… I helped set it up years ago.

Leave a Reply

