JUST 4 MILES AWAY FROM THE OSCARS CEREMONY

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Good morning friends!

Any of you watched the Oscars ceremony yesterday?  I’d never watched it before, but I finally crossed that out of my list last night. Living in Los Angeles, only 4 miles away from Hollywood… I mean it almost feels like a crime not to do it. Plus, my friend Tonja hosted an awesome Oscars party at her house with lots of delicious food and two homemade cheesecakes – I would not miss that for anything in the world!

To be honest, I didn’t watch any of the movies that were nominated, but it was fun to guess who the winner would be only by watching the 10-second trailer that they showed at the beginning of each nomination. My friends and I also came up with an awesome game to burn time during commercial breaks – Celebrity Age Quiz! With the magic of Photoshop, plastic surgery and make up it truly is a mystery how old some celebrities actually are; you should have had to see my surprised face with some of them. Did you know that Sandra Bullock is 50 years old? Crazy…

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

My favorite moments of the night were:

1) When Ellen DeGeneres invited a bunch of celebrities such as Angelina Jolie, Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts, Bradley Cooper and Kevin Spacey among others to join together for an epic star-studded selfie with the goal of breaking the Twitter record for most retweets. If you still haven’t seen the photo, take a look here!

2) The inspirational acceptance speech of Lupita Nyong’o after winning the best supporting actress Oscar for her role in 12 Years a Slave (watch it here).

“When I look down at this golden statue, may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid. Thank you.”

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

IMG_3701

Holywood, Los Angeles

Hollywood, Los Angeles

What were your favorite moments of the Oscars ceremony?

feet from shore

19 thoughts on “JUST 4 MILES AWAY FROM THE OSCARS CEREMONY

  1. Hi Yael! Sounds like an amazing time! I love love love the Oscars and fill out a ballot each year. I was pretty spot on with my picks this year yay.:) P.S. They should give out awards for amazing speeches just for Lupita Nyong’o!

    • We had to fill out ballots at the party as well, but I didn’t participate because I didn’t watch ANY of the nominated movies. I still tried to guess who the winner would be, and I was right in a lot of the categories! 🙂 I agree, she totally deserves a “mini-oscar” for that moving speech!

      • I watched a couple of the nominated movies, but I still need to catch up. Movie night it is!:) Guessing makes it more fun anyway! Lupita Nyong’o is simply amazing!

  2. Very cool. Last time I was in LA there was a movie premiere going on and I could see it out my hotel window. It was interesting to watch all the celebs pull up and walk the red carpet.

  3. I visited the walk of fame years ago when I visited CA with my mom and brother but definitely didn’t appreciate it like I would if I visited it now. I know I’ll make it out there again someday.

Leave a Reply

