WHICH ONE WOULD YOU CHOOSE?

both colors ff

Sometimes the world looks better in black and white. It just does.
Sometimes the vibrancy of color is essential to engage your audience emotionally.

Color vs Monochrome – the eternal dilema in photography. I personally don’t have a strong preference for any of these styles; I just love to experiment with both. They let you look at things differently, the same image can evoke completely opposite feelings depending on which style you choose. Sometimes that choice is pretty obvious, but in most cases, it takes me a while to be fully convinced.

When I’m not sure about it, I just give myself five minutes to look at both pictures carefully, feel and observe the little details that make them unique, and focus on the way I feel when I look at them. Always, without fail, one of the images ends up captivating me completely. I don’t have rules; I just listen to my heart.

Yael Serena

Yael Serena

In this case, I prefer the monochrome photograph. The yellow door at the right side is very distracting and takes the focus away from the subject. Β Plus, I really like the subtlety of tones that black and white give to the image, and how it accentuates the pattern of the scarf.

And you, what image captivates you the most? πŸ™‚

signature

55 thoughts on “WHICH ONE WOULD YOU CHOOSE?

  1. Hi Yael, very nice picture. I do think I prefer the color one as I love strong blacks. I agree completely with the door but what also takes focus is the white box in the door. If it’s ok with you, I could try some edits when I have time and use them for step by step? (if not tonight most likely next week end). Let me know what you think

  2. Stunning in either of course… but even though the colour shot shows us the warmth of our skin and hair tones, the b&w actually does the same, perhaps even more so. Hey, what do I know πŸ™‚

  3. I’m not sure. I usually prefer color, but in this case I would go a third path. I’d use a gradient to reduce the color saturation starting at your left shoulder and going to the right. That way the yellow door wouldn’t be as distracting.

  4. I very much enjoy the view that you share with your photography and like both images.

    Yet, looking at both for a while, the monochrome version captivates me. It focusses wonderfully on the beautiful eyes of the subject and I agree with everything else you said about this. πŸ™‚

    • As said in the comments above, I should probably have had to apply a gradient on the door to reduce the vibrancy of the yellow color and make it less distracting. I’m glad you agree with my choice! πŸ™‚

  5. Colour wins every time for me. The world is made of colour. For me, black and white is like enjoying a meal without any taste, or listening to music without a beat. I appreciate sometimes it makes you focus on the subject which is useful when trying to make a statement with a photo. But otherwise you’re depriving the viewer of half the picture.

    • I’m a big fan of color in photography as well, but sometimes by applying black and white to a photo you add a sense of mystery and fantasy that it is not possible otherwise. I guess it just depends on the picture and your personal taste! πŸ™‚

  6. I like both, but the monochrome really shows more emotion – I think it is that I’m not distracted by the yellow in the background, and the red of your lips, and I see the sparkle in your eyes. Did you try differing colour filter effects? I’d love to see the differences in using a red, an orange, and a yellow filter. But, both beautiful.

  7. I also agree that the monochrome works better here.

    The colors of the girl in the color photo are very similar to those in the monochrome. The only real difference between images is the bright yellow of the door gets muted in the monochrome which gives more focus on the subject. Very well done Yael.

  8. I find both beautiful although I am leaning towards the black and white. I would have thought differently considering it’s winter here and the lack of color in my natural environment should have me craving the color. Cheers!

  9. That’s a nice picture! I think I’d go for the b/w, if only because as you say it highlights the scarf pattern. The image might even get a stronger impact if you’d added an orange or yellow filter (then the scarf would be darker)…

  10. With the exception of the yellow door frame in the background (which I agree is a distracting element in the color photo), both images work. It is simply a matter of deciding what you want to convey in your photograph. You mentioned you like the patterns in the scarf, and I think the black and white image achieves that. By eliminating the color component from the composition, you have made patterns and tones the focal point, and that was exactly what you wanted to do. When your image conveys the message you want it to convey, then you have created a successful photograph.

  11. Pingback: WHICH ONE WOULD YOU CHOOSE? | SΓ©bastien Grobelny - Photography

Leave a Reply

