BEE ON ROUTE TO A BEAUTIFUL FLOWER

Bee on flower

If you take a look at my Photography Bucket List, you’ll see that my #1 photo that I’ve been wanting to take for a long time is “A butterfly on a flower”. I know there are a million photos like those on Internet and you’re probably tired of seeing them; but I just can’t help it – I want MY OWN.

I didn’t have the chance to find a butterfly, but a bee is pretty close, right? Unfortunately, I don’t own a macro lens or any extension tubes yet, so I couldn’t get up close to the bee and capture its details. These pictures left me thinking about how badly I want to get into macro photography. The second I have some savings, I’ll look around for a good Canon macro lens that let me escape into the world of details. I just love how macro photography opens you a completely different world where you see the details beyond what your naked eye sees. It freezes a moment in time and shows you the hidden treasures of the simple things…

Bee on flower

bee on a flower quote

Bee on flower

If you have any recommendations on what lenses are best for this kind of photography, let me know in the comments please, I’ll love to know more about it!

signature

29 thoughts on “BEE ON ROUTE TO A BEAUTIFUL FLOWER

  1. I love these photographs, the flowers are so pretty 🙂 Also there’s so many photographs I’d love to take which are on your Photography Bucket List! I’m totally inspired

  2. My Kodak EasyShare Max Z990 12MP point-and-shoot camera comes with a Macro (flower) button and hitting it a second time gets me in the Super Macro setting, which, believe it or not, is usually very good for closeups when used in conjunction with the Aperture mode.

  3. My dream photo, if I had a photo bucket list, would be “Lightning reflected in a lake”. That one’s quite dangerous, so will probably have to stay in my mind.

    Getting my macro lens this week.

  4. Beautiful image!

    With regard to recommendations, I don’t know whether you use a point-and-shoot or a 35mm dSLR. But, if you are using a dSLR, I would suggest something like a 100mm to 200mm lens with extension tubes. In the case of the photo above, the longer lens would give you considerable working distance between the lens and the bee so the bee would not be frightened off. The extension tubes would allow you to focus very closely so you could fill the frame with the bee and flower. You can use shorter lenses (for example, 50mm), but the shorter the lens, the closer it has to be to the subject. If it’s a flower, not a big deal. If it’s the bee on the flower, good-bye bee. I don’t do a lot of close-up, or macro, photography, but when I do, this is the set-up I use.

    When doing macro photography, depth of field is critically important. To maximize depth of field, be sure to use the smallest aperture on the lens, focus carefully on the most important part of the subject, try to keep the back of the camera as parallel as possible to your subject, and use a tripod because any camera movement at all will be very noticeable.

    Hope this helps.

    • Your advice is invaluable Bob, thank you so much! I use a DSLR and own a 75-200 mm lens (that’s exactly the one I used to take the pictures above). I was thinking about getting extension tubes to start with and see what the result is. They are not too expensive and might be worth to try before spending more money on a macro lens. Thank you so much for sharing your technique, I’ll definitely keep it in mind! 🙂 Have a great day!

      • Extension tubes are certainly far less expensive than a good quality macro lens. But another advantage is that they do not contain any glass, so they are lighter than a macro lens. I use Kenko extension tubes that I ordered online. These came in a set of three – a 12mm tube, 20mm tube, and a 36mm tube. They can be used separately or in any combination which gives them another advantage – you can adjust the magnification you get by adding or subtracting the tubes. A third advantage is that the tubes can be used with any of your lenses. So for your 75-200mm lens, the tubes would give you a 75mm macro lens, a 200mm macro lens, as well as, a macro lens for every focal length in between.

  5. If you come to Texas, the monarchs migrate right thru us on the way to Mexico each year. They seem to go right through where we live. I sometimes sit there and just watch the never ending parade go by.

    • Wooo I found someone who thinks like me! Butterflies, bees…they’re all the same, right? ;P They can be pretty expensive yeah, that’s why I think I’ll start practicing with the extension tubes (much more affordable)

  6. These photos are beautiful and I certainly have similar photos on my bucket list. I know some people have reccomended extension tubes but I’ve been using these macros filters: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Polaroid-Macro-Close-Piece-Filter/dp/B003UI0194/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1392543847&sr=8-1&keywords=macro+filters

    They’re dead cheap and on a short lens can give you amazing close ups. I guess your only challenge then (without the tubes) is to not scare away your subject!

    Wonderful blog! Definitely going to follow!

  7. gorgeous photos! I love macro photography and would love to get a macro lense someday when we have some extra money lying around.
    ps. I tried finding you on instagram and can’t seem to find you. any thoughts?

    • I don’t know why my instagram widget on the sidebar doesn’t work. You can try by clicking on the instagram button under my sidebar portrait picture, or find me manually at yael_sp. Looking forward to adding you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

