SAN DIEGO in one day

san diego

I finally had some time to spare this past weekend, and I spent it editing the pictures of my escape to San Diego. What can I say about this city? It’s one of those places where you instantly get caught up by the beauty of the scenery, the ideal weather, the friendly people and the laid-back California culture. I like the small-town-but-not-too-small-of-a-town feel, with plenty of things to do without having to drive hours if you want to go to the opposite side of the city (something that I completely hate about LA).

San Diego is a place close enough for us to take a one-day trip and still feel that we are not too close to home. After a quick stop in La Jolla (if you missed our adventure at the beautiful Cove click Β here), we headed to Balboa Park to start the visit. It’s a gorgeous park with inspiringly beautiful architecture throughout that reminded me the south of Spain; with stunning gardens and lovely fountains everywhere. It’s definitely a treat for photographers, especially if you like rich and colorful backgrounds.

After that we drove through the awesome San Diego-Coronado bridge to see the skyline and visit the famous Hotel del CoronadoΒ located right next to the beach. There were some events going on in the peninsula so it was a little bit crowded, but we managed to find a spot to relax at the rocks and enjoy the view of the boats. We ended up the day having a late lunch at the Gaslamp Quarter; a fun urban colorful destination in Downtown San Diego with lots of exquisite bar and restaurants.

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

San Diego, California

We had a blast in that city, I hope I can make it there again soon and keep exploring it! Suggestions accepted πŸ˜‰
signature

33 thoughts on “SAN DIEGO in one day

  1. I’m fairly close to SD, so I have tons of photos from there including many from various areas of La Jolla Cove. Also got some of Balboa Park, Hotel del and Coronado Bridge w/more to come. My upcoming post will be related to SD, so check it out. πŸ˜‰

  2. Well hello fellow Californian! I am glad to have stumbled upon your blog and I’m looking forward to reading about your California adventures :). Plus, I’m absolutely loving your photography and graphics! Good job on all the customizing. I might have to tap you for some help on mine ;). All the best, xo

  3. San Diego is probably one of the best cities I visited so far. Sadly I only spent two days there. If you go next time, be sure to check out Point Loma. You have a great view from the old lighthouse.

  4. We’ll be down in San Diego (Encinitas) for our niece’s graduation and I plan to get tons of photos over the weekend. We’ll be there Thursday afternoon through Sunday morning. Any suggestions of sites to see are encouraged. I drove into La Jolla last time we were there but didn’t get any good shots. I think I’m the only person who can visit a beach city and not get any good shots! Love yours, by the way. I’ll be taking a trip to the Hotel Del one day. We actually got to stay there once! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

