STILL LOST IN THE DESERT…

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

I think I have a new obsession with the desert. Since I visited it last weekend, I have spent a decent amount of hours asking Mr. Google interesting facts about it, as well as what to do to survive if I ever get lost in it (am I a nerd?). I still had some desert pictures left to post, so I figured I could also share some of the interesting things I’ve read for all the curious minds out there.

desert

1. The world’s largest desert is Antarctica. I know what you’re thinking – “What? If it’s not hot, and there is plenty of water there!”. Right, but an area doesn’t have to be hot to be qualified as a desert –  it just needs to lose more moisture than it gains.

2. There are parts of the Atacama Desert (Chile) where no rain has even been recorded; and yet more than 1 million people live there. No, they are not super humans who can survive without water if that’s what you’re thinking. Farmers extract enough water from aquifers and snowmelt streams to grow crops and raise llamas and alpacas.

3. There is on average a mountain rescue in the desert every 3 days.

4. If you get lost in the desert, you don’t have to urinate on your shirt and wear it on your head like Bear Grylls to avoid dying of thirst. You can suck water from the branches of some palms, such as buri and rattan.  3

5. Camels can drink up to 40 gallons of water in one go, and they can also eat pretty much anything, including thorny twigs. Oh, and did you know that they can kick in all four directions with each of their legs? You have been warned.

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

IMG_2213

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

IMG_2073

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

IMG_2244

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

Joshua Tree National Park, desert

signature

19 thoughts on “STILL LOST IN THE DESERT…

      • We didn’t make it to the Monument Valley, sadly. But visited almost everything else, like the Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend, Grand Canyon, the Meteor Crater, Sedona, Fossil Creek, Tucson, and so on.
        If you go to Sedona, the best thing to do is to rent a mountain bike and go for a ride. There are so many stunning mountain bike routes through a truly amazing scenery. =)

  1. Great pictures! I love Joshua Tree! I think I took several hundred pictures in just a couple hours. I would love to go back and stay overnight there under the stars. What a magical place.

  2. Yael & your Bo//// I love your energy/ your pictures are outstanding….Came across them by chance!! I am coming to California on Feb 21st. I am renting a bike & checking out the beaches..
    Would you have any recommendations as to where to stay as I am from Montreal alone & looking to rent a room and I am wanting to visit hermosa, marina del ray, santa monica, manhattan, & venice Beaches…. IAny great suggestions…. Or looking to do a trade that way when people from California come to Montreal they can stay with me… Thanks your thought… Carole

    • Hi Carole! Are you coming just for a few days? If that’s the case and you’re looking for somebody interested in offering you a place, I recommend you to check out this website https://www.couchsurfing.org/. You will see that Los Angeles is a huge city, so you might need to take a bus to go from one place to another. Marina del Rey, Venice and Santa Monica are very close to each other, so it will be easy to bike from one beach to another. Manhattan and Hermosa Beach are gorgeous too, but they are 20 min away from Marina del Rey by car – I’m not sure how long would it take you by bike. If I was you, I would probably look for a place in Santa Monica – the area is beautiful and quite safe, and there is a lot of nightlife there as well. Hermosa Beach is beautiful too, but I’m not sure if there are a lot of bars around. It all depends on your priorities 🙂 I hope you enjoy your stay in California! 🙂

Leave a Reply

