WELCOME TO THE DESERT

IMG_2269

Hi folks!

Last week I said I wanted to go on a little adventure, and I sure did! Dan and I spent the whole Saturday exploring Joshua Tree National Park to get a sense of what it feels like being in the desert. When you live in LA, you really have an appreciation for quiet and peaceful environments where you can leave the stress of the everyday behind; and that’s exactly what we found there.

The scenery was gorgeous, dotted with Joshua trees and magnificent rock formations that took my breath away. This park has seriously a life of its own. The strange beauty of the flora and barren landscape sometimes gave me the sensation that I was in a completely different planet. My phone had no reception whatsoever, so we had to rely on a traditional map to go from point A to point B. It felt good to be disconnected from technology for a while and trust our instincts to know where we were at any given moment. I had to admit that we got lost a couple of times, but hey, we survived! πŸ˜‰

We had all day to explore the different exhibits of the park such as the Skull Rock, Hidden Valley, Indian Cove and Keys Ranch among others. Although all of them were very impressive, my favorite was the Cholla Cactus GardenΒ – a sea of cute and fuzzy cacti stretching out in all directions. From a distance, these cacti tend to have a very soft appearance, but their needles are extremely sharp and dig into the skin immediately. Dan learned the hard way. I was playing with the settings of my camera when I heard a loud painful scream coming from him. I run towards him to see what happened, and I freaked out when I saw that a fallen piece with hundreds of thick and sharp needles was stocked so deep in his fingers. It took him a while to pull them out, I could feel the pain only by seeing the whole scene. Believe me, you don’t want to mess around with these plants!

IMG_2032

IMG_1968

IMG_1874

IMG_1940

IMG_1932

IMG_1867

IMG_1887

IMG_2087

IMG_1993

IMG_2093

IMG_2139 copy

IMG_2047 copy

IMG_2049

IMG_2055

IMG_2079

IMG_2104

IMG_2148

IMG_2211

IMG_2206

I hope you guys have had a phenomenal weekend, and a better start of the week!

signature

20 thoughts on “WELCOME TO THE DESERT

    • Hi Leanda! Thank you so much for your comment πŸ™‚ Spending the day in the desert was fantastic, I needed some time away from the craziness of LA and Joshua Tree NP was absolutely perfect. Enjoy the rain of UK for me, that’s is definitely one of the things I miss the most here…!

  1. Yael, your little desert adventure sounds like a movie! All the photos are amazing and I feel like I was there. You’re all bundled up…was it chilly while you were there? P.S. I want your fur scarf! – xoxo, Donna

    • I wish you were there, I’d have loved a “jumping” pic surrounded by cacti with you! haha
      It was very cold because of the wind! I wasn’t expecting it to be that cold so I didn’t wear enough layers. Good thing Dan’s sweater was on the car! πŸ™‚
      I swear if someday I see a fur scarf similar to mine I’ll get it and email it to you! Searching….:P

  2. Great photos as always, Yael. Glad you had fun there, and stay away from those spines, ouch!! That area looks just like the deserts around Las Vegas – welcome to my fascination with the desert!

    • Thank you! I will definitely think twice before I run among them again. I’ve always thought there was nothing interesting about the desert, but my opinion totally changed after my visit to Joshua Tree NP. The plants and rock formations were amazing!

  3. I used to live in the High Desert. You couldn’t see my home from the road the way it was constructed on a hill and I had a Coyote den in the back yard. The entire area reminded me of Lost In Space, the planets seemed so unforgiving.

    I hate deserts as an environment to live in, but desert dawns are glorious!

    Yet I would like to visit them to say “farewell” as I work my way to South America.
    Places leave an imprint on you. I cannot go anywhere on the planet without the dust of the High Desert clinging to me.

    • I totally had the sensation that I was in an alien planet while I was visiting the park. It’s a world on its own, with so much flora and natural beauty to admire. I don’t see myself living there either, but it is a phenomenal place to do activities outdoors.

  4. Fun special effect with the color and b/w shot. Love it! Very cool to visit the desert. Poor Dan. That mean cactus did a number on him. No snakes?

    • What happen to Nico in Palos Verdes is nothing compared to Dan’s experience with the cactus. I’m so stupid for not taking a picture of that thing attached it to his hand, but I was freaking out at the moment haha. The only animals we saw on the park were birds! No snakes no… 😦

  5. Looks like a fabulous day spent in the desert! I would absolutely love to explore that part of the country. I’m sure we’ll make it there someday! Until then, I will enjoy your pictures from all of your adventures!

Leave a Reply

