SWEET UNCLE

IMG_3824

Today all my thoughts are with my lovely uncle Ico, who is having heart surgery. I wish I could be there holding his hand in this rough moment, but it warms my heart to know that my mom and grandma are taking good care of him.

Ico is the most joyful person I’ve ever known; it’s hard to not be happy when he is around. He always welcomes everybody with a warm hug and a sweet smile, his love is so pure, unconditional and special. I grew up playing and watching cartoons with him, he was to me the old brother I’ve never had. I remember he always tried to protect me from getting hurt, held my hand while we walked around the city or asked me to stop in front of the crosswalks. I am pretty sure he is probably the person that has taught me the most valuable lessons in life. Thanks to him I have the ability to empathise with others, to be kind to strangers, to not judge anybody for their appearance, to not be afraid or shy to show my love for people or animals, to live in the moment, and to enjoy the little things. He made me a better human being, and I’ll always feel blessed for having him in my life.

linia about me page

“When you focus on someone’s disability you’ll overlook their abilities, beauty and uniqueness. Once you learn to accept and love them for who they are, you subconsciously learn to love yourself unconditionally.” — Yvonne Pierre

β€œOften people ask, “How can you say you’re blessed to have a son with Down syndrome?” My outlook on life has forever changed. I see my own challenges differently. He’s always showing me that life is so much bigger than self.” — Yvonne Pierre

signature

24 thoughts on “SWEET UNCLE

Leave a Reply

