TODAY

IMG_4083

Today, for the first time since I met you, we will be able to celebrate your birthday the way you deserve. Today we won’t have to worry about the ocean that kept us away from each other for so long. Today we won’t have to plan a skype date so I can see your face on your special day. ย Today I will be able to buy you the sweetest cake I can find and stare at your face as you blow out your 24 birthday candles.ย Today you won’t have to drive me to the airport without knowing when you’ll see me next.

Today, December 9th, ย we will get to enjoy what we’ve dreamed for so long. You and I, no miles in between.

I’m so thankful for every single second I get to spend with you. If distance taught me something, that was to not take our time or moments together for granted.
Can’t wait to get home tonight and thank you for all the joy you’ve brought into my life since I met you.

I love you so much.

signature

25 thoughts on “TODAY

  1. Aww I’m going to cry! Long-distance relationship are heartbreaking (even when they work), so I’m so happy you are finally living with your sweetie and sharing his birthday together! Congratulations and Happy Birthday to your man ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much Caitlin. Long-distance relationships are definitely challenging and tough to be in, but one can learn a lot from it. When you are far away from the person you love, somehow you become stronger and value every little moment so much more.

      Let me share with you one of the quotes I used to read to myself on my toughest moments across the ocean: “Distance means so little, when someone means so much.”
      No matter how much it hurts to be away, if that person is someone worth to fight for, you don’t see anything else.

      Have a good evening ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yael, I am so happy that you guys are finally going to have this moment, because my husband and I, we know exactly what it feels like. ๐Ÿ™‚ I married him before we had the chance to celebrate his birthday in the same physical place and we were already together for a veryyyy long time. But when it’s meant to be, life has a funny way of working things out. Happy Birthday! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much for sharing your personal story with me Gerry. It’s really exciting to know that other couples in our situation figured it out a way to end with the distance and now live happy together. When you find your better half, no matter how far you are or how tough it is, there is always a way to make things happen! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hola Pol!!

      Quina ilusio veure un comentari en catala per aqui (perdona per les faltes d’ortografia, t’escric desde la feina i ja saps q els teclats americans no en tenen d’accents jeje!). M’alegro q t’hagi agradat l’escrit, tu q vas viure el naixement de la relacio segur q recordes molts moments on devia dir “no pot ser q aixo funcioni!”, i mira on estem… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Veig que les coses et van forca be, et veig felic a les fotos. Com me’n alegro!
      Una abracada!

  3. yael cariรฑo que contenta estoy de verte tan feliz, y ver la gran pareja que hacรฉis. Para mi no hay nada mas importante,fue difรญcil durante un tiempo pero ves al final todo llega disfrutad de este dรญa de cumpleaรฑos os quiero mucho a los dos. hasta muy pronto ya falta poquito para veros ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

