SPANISH SEAFOOD PAELLA

seafood paella

Seafood Paella is probably the most popular Spanish dish around the world, so I had no option but to post this fantastic recipe here! There are a bunch of different versions of paella such as chicken and chorizo paella, black rice paella, or mixed paella.  My version only has seafood cause my boyfriend doesn’t eat meat, but you can add chicken, pork or beef to include extra flavors and make it even tastier!

yield

ingredients button

  • 1 yellow or white onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic gloves, minced
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoon salt, to taste
  • 1/2 tablespoon paprika
  • 1/2 tablespoon saffron (you can find the mix I used here)
  • 1 red and green pepper, diced
  • 1 medium tomato, peeled and diced
  • 1/4 Ibs green beans
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups medium-grain or “bomba” white rice
  • 3 cups of fish or chicken broth
  • 1/2 – 1 Ibs uncooked shrimp, peeled
  • 1/2 Ibs cleaned squid, bodies cut into 1/2-inch rings
  • 1 dozen raw mussels in shell, fresh
  • 1 lemon
  • Additional: 1 Ibs small clams, 1/2 Ibs frozen peas

spanish seafood paella recipe

directions button

1. Prepare the ingredients. Finely chop a medium onion, dice 1 red and green pepper, cut green beans and chop a few gloves of garlic. Also, peel and dice a tomato, set aside for later.

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

IMG_6268

spanish seafood paella recipe

2. Prepare the seafood. Peel and devein the shrimp, cut squid into rings, and scrub and debeard a dozen fresh mussels.

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

IMG_6237

3. The next step is to make the “sofrito”, a Spanish tomato and onion sauce which is used as a flavor base for the paella. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a pan over a medium heat and cook the vegetables until softened. Add the tomatoes, and stir until they start to melt.

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

4. While the sofrito is cooking, place the mussels in a saucepan with half a cup of water. Cover and steam on a low heat for 5 minutes. Remove mussels and set aside, discarding any that haven’t opened.

At the same time, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a pan over a medium-high heat.  Add the shrimp and cook for 2-3 minutes, tossing continuously. After, cook the squid rings for a further 5 minutes until they are tender. Lightly season with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Cover and set aside.

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

5. Once the sofrito is ready, add the shrimp and squid to the mix and season with 1 teaspoon of salt and 2 teaspoons of paprika, to taste.

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

6. Add the rice, sprinkling in the form of a large cross on the pan. Slowly pour broth into the paella pan until ingredients are all covered, and add a pinch of saffron threads, 1/2 teaspoon sea salt and 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper.

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

7. Lower the heat to a gentle simmer and cook for 35-45 minutes without stirring. To make sure the rice cooks evenly you will need to regularly move the paella pan around the heat source. Add more broth if necessary. After 45 minutes, turn the heat up to medium-high for a minute or so until you can smell the rice toasting at the bottom, then remove the paella from the heat. The toasted rice bottom of a paella is called “socorrat”, and adds a very tasty flavor to the rice – it’s my favorite part!

spanish seafood paella recipe

8. When rice is cooked, arrange mussels around outside edge of pan, pointing up. You can also add half a cup of defrosted green peas if you desire so. Cover the pan with foil or a clean cloth, and let the paella rest for 5 minutes. Slice lemons into wedges and serve alongside paella for drizzling.

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

spanish seafood paella recipe

Now that you know how to prepare this delicious Spanish recipe, go ahead and surprise your family with it! 🙂

Enjoy!!

spanish seafood paella recipe

signature

34 thoughts on “SPANISH SEAFOOD PAELLA

  1. I have a paella recipe and I made it only once (because it was much work, lol). I do like to eat it! Now I have to sit down and compare it with your recipe. Is paella the kind of recipe that everyone makes his/her own version: Thanks for sharing, Jael!

    • There are so many different versions, people add different ingredients based on their own personal preferences. In my case, I like to cook it just with seafood because my boyfriend doesn’t eat meat, but my parents for example, they always add some kind of meat that gives an extra flavor to the rice (chorizo, chicken, etc.). You’re right that paella is not a quick recipe to make, you have to be in the mood to spend 2 hours in the kitchen. The final result pays off though, it’s so delicious! 🙂

  2. Stunning photos Yael! This looks soooo yummy:) Unfortunately I’m allergic to shellfish but I’d definitely try making chicken and chorizo paella! Thanks for sharing:)

    • Thank you Donna! Oh that’s too bad to hear, definitely not try this recipe then. I have never tried to cook Chorizo and Chicken Paella (my boyfriend doesn’t eat meat so there is no point in spending +1.5h in the kitchen if he’s not gonna eat it haha), but I tried it a few times when I was in Spain and it’s so delicious too! 🙂

      • You’re welcome! I knooo…it sucks! I’ve been allergic for about 15 years now:( Sometimes when I’m back in Jamaica, I’ll drink take antihistamine like benadryl before I eat crab or shrimp. I really shouldn’t…but I just can’t resist! At least I’m not allergic to oysters or mussels…that’s a plus I guess:)

  3. Okay, now I’m really hungry. Thanks for that. Haha.
    That looks amazing! Seafood Paella is probably my favourite food ever. So I loved this post. I’m going to have a crack at it myself. It may or may not work (I’m not the greatest chef) but it looks too good not to try. Great post, thanks for sharing it!

    • You’re more than welcome! Seafood Paella is one of my favorite dishes as well, my dad always cooked that on Sundays when I lived in Spain. Best of luck on your cooking experience, I’m sure it will be delicious! 🙂 Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

