THAT ONE TIME WHEN I TRIED TO BE A MODEL…

yael photo shooting

If there is one thing I know about moving to a new city it’s that it sucks until you forge meaningful relationships with new people. Creating a rich social life from scratch is probably the toughest part of the moving process; it’s scary and takes a lot of determination.

Fortunately, there are a bunch of good websites out there where you can easily get in touch with people with shared interests in your local area. One of the websites I checked out regularly was meetup.com, a site that led me to a group called Girlfriend Grapevine. It serves as a hub to meet interesting and down to earth sister-friends with the goal of developing long term friendships.

I still remember the day when I received an email from the organizer asking if I wanted to appear in the landing page of the new website they were creating. She also told me that a professional photographer would take the pictures and some make-up artists would be there as well to assist the “models”. I had never been professionally in front of a camera before, so that proposal was very scary. I was convinced that it would be very awkward for me, and I almost rejected the offer. However, in the last minute I told myself “Why not?” and decided to sign up for that new adventure. Stepping out of your comfort zone is always good, or that’s what everybody says anyways. I was glad I went to that photo shooting. I had a lot of fun with the other models, we all had lunch together and it was the perfect way to make new friends in the city.

I recently received the photos, so I thought it would be nice to share them with you. I’m definitely not made to be a model, but it was exciting to be at the other side of the camera for a day!

Yael Girlfriend Grapevine landing page

yael photo shooting

signature

40 thoughts on “THAT ONE TIME WHEN I TRIED TO BE A MODEL…

  1. You look fabulous, relaxed and at home in front of that camera. I was wondering if you had ever modeled professionally. Hoping your holiday is going great, Yael! (sunny and 62 in Vegas today) πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you so much John! That was my only modeling experience so far, and not sure it will happen again. I think behind the camera is where I belong. You made me quite jealous, I just came home from one of the coldest experience of my life. Dan and his high school friends always play american football on Thanksgiving, and I was in charge of taking pictures. It’s freezing outside, my fingers are literally dead! Happy Thanksgiving to you and Rebecca (oh, and Zeus too, of course!).

      • It can be an unpleasant experience, feeling your fingers and toes so cold that they seem to be gone. I can tell you from experience that this is amplified by riding a snowmobile for hours, exposed to the wind which brings the wind chill number much lower of course. They begin to hurt if not properly dressed. Pain means your extremities are approaching frostbite. Stay warm!!

    • Thank you so much for such a nice comment! I always prefer when models show their natural side rather than posing too much and having a lot of make-up on. I’m so glad you like these portraits πŸ™‚ Wishing you and your family a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. I don’t think that i easy could meet new friends in a new city. I am too shy, never trusting enough in myself, i really think that i would be ALONE in this city hahaha. I might be saying some bullshit this morning, i do not have the time to check my english comment but i hope you’ll understand πŸ˜‰ and you are beautiful ! ❀ love from france

    • I had the same thoughts the days before moving to LA. Omg I’m gonna be alone, there is no way I’m going to make new friends, it’s just too hard! But once you’re here, you just need to be active, go out and have an open mind to meeting new people. You’re a great girl Camille, I’m sure that with a little bit of confidence you’d make a tone of friends too πŸ˜‰ Don’t be afraid of that! Your English is awesome, thank you so much for taking the time to comment on this post! πŸ™‚ Have a great day!

      • It’s always a pleasure to comment some of your articles, and thank you very much for what you said, it goes right to my heart. On reflection, you’re not wrong: the difficulties are not in the fact to make new friends or go out to meet new people, but maybe in the fact of opening by self to others ? I have to admit, sometimes (or rather often) i would go elsewhere and meet new people. But i think you must be a minimum mentally strong, or you’ll be DOWN. Or maybe i am wrong… πŸ˜€

  3. I am not comfortable in front of cameras at all, and wearing make up is not something I enjoy either. A friend of mine is a photographer and she had me model for her portfolio. It felt really awkward and I didn’t feel like myself at all. I will post those photos on my blog soon but I give you cool points for being brave with something out of your comfort zone πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Rosa. I completely understand that sensation, I felt like my upper lip was shaking all the time. It was awkward, but a nice experience after all. One never know if you like something if you don’t try it. Now I’m more certain than ever that the right place for me is behind the camera πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see a peek of your modeling experience!

Leave a Reply

