DOGS NEVER LIE ABOUT LOVE

West Highland White Terrier

He makes me melt.

I’ve always been so thankful to have the company of Whess. When I was living in Spain, I spent most of my time with this little guy. We had regular little love fests all throughout each day, and at night he would jump into my bed for even more cuddles. I can’t even start to describe how much I miss his company, his soft hair, his smell, our afternoons at the park, taking the sun together, the irresistible look he gave me every time I had food in my hands…and so on. It’s crazy how after 11 years he still gets so excited every time I get home, even if I just went out for a few minutes to pick up some groceries. I wonder why we humans can’t be that enthusiastic when we see our relatives each day, we all would be happier if we gave and received that much love, wouldn’t we?

I can’t believe that in less than one month I’ll be kissing and squeezing him again. Just the thought of it brings to my face the biggest smile. I love him SO MUCH.

IMG_2888

West Highland White Terrier

This is my handsome teen little brother, Adri. Can’t wait to give him a big hug!

IMG_2718

West Highland White Terrier

West Highland White Terrier

West Highland White Terrier

West Highland White Terrier

 

As you can see,Β I only give him yummy stuff…and then he has no option but to nap all day.

West Highland White Terrier

West Highland White Terrier

IMG_2514West Highland White Terrier

My beautiful and young mom…what a cute couple they are.

West Highland White Terrier

West Highland White Terrier

 

West Highland White Terrier

West Highland White Terrier

Here is the rest of my crazy/happy family!

IMG_3335

Finally, a few of my favorites that I snapped with my iPhone…

My dog and I

My dog and I

quote

I love this quote because I think it’s so true. Dogs make people spend time together and become closer. I can’t count how many times my siblings and I lay down in my bed to play with Whess and tickle him non-stop. Β Or how many times my parents and I went out for a nice walk that we wouldn’t have done if it wasn’t for him. He will always be more than a “dog” to us.

What does your dog/cat mean to you?

Β 

signature

40 thoughts on “DOGS NEVER LIE ABOUT LOVE

  1. The Hound is a messer, rogue but all so loveable and always there for you. He makes me smile and laugh with his zest for life and playful antics, a sounding board, a soulmate, a love, a companion, dependable. Yeah, I guess he means quite a bit. MMπŸ€

  2. Loved that post. We just lost our bullmastiff and he was exactly what you say, loved. Dogs simply love, without conditions, without resentments, without caution. I heard a quote: “God, let me be the person my dog thinks I am.” I loved it because it sums up what I feel around my dogs.

  3. There’s a reason that ‘Dog’ is ‘God’ backwards. They are the greatest teachers of unconditional love most of us will ever encounter until we pass beyond the veils of this life.

    • I really had a tough time in my first months here. I’d cry every time I thought about him, it was unbearable to come home and not see him jumping at me. I guess now I’m learning how to leave without his presence, but yeah, I miss him like crazy. I’ve always had a sense of protection towards him, I was 13 when we got him so I’ve always treated him like my little “bro/baby”.

  4. That is one very photogenic little dog…and family! We have our black lab Jake who is a lovable rascal. He’s getting an old boy now but can’t imagine life without him.x

  5. That is a CUTE dog! Oh my.
    We got our dog (Jack Russel) when I was 11. I was actually really sick that day, and she snuggled in the bed and on the couch with me whenever I was down. She was and still is my cuddle buddy – she’s 16 now! but still very loving.

    • It’s crazy how they KNOW when we feel sad or sick. Whess does the same than Jack Russel (awesome name btw!), he always takes care of me and never leaves me alone. I could use some doggy cuddle time right now!

      • Actually I misspelled Jack Russell, but that’s the breed of dog we have. Her name is Sophie. But that would be a PERFECT dog name if the family’s last name was Russell, haha!! And yes, they really do seem to understand us. She even knows who in the house is having a bad day, and she’ll follow you around and snuggle with you. It’s really cute.

  6. Reblogged this on The Second Time Around and commented:
    We currently have a great dog with Pepper and had a great one with the legendary Duffy the Dog (August 25, 1994-April 19, 2012) and Yael has a great dog named Whess. Enjoy the pictures and commentary!

  7. Your post totally made me cry! Our dog Brownie is 11 now and starting to slow down. We have so many memories of her!! We even joke about how she teethed on our daughter when she was barely three years old which was when we got Brownie. πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing a tribute to your dog with the rest of the world.

    • I completely understand the sensation you must have when you think about him getting old. I seriously panic every time that I think about it, I’d give anything to give him some more years of youth and life. But let’s not think about that, we still have a lot of nice moments ahead with them! Tickle Brownie for me πŸ˜›

      • We do have many moments left with our dogs! I do focus on her great personality and am thankful she has been healthy all this time. She would growl if I tickled her! πŸ™‚ If she isn’t in the mood to be petted or whatever, she always growls. We laugh because it is like she’s just a cantankerous old lady saying “leave me alone! I’m trying to sleep!”

  8. Aww I love this, he is adorable! I can only imagine how much you miss him, I miss my dog whenever I go away for vacation. Dogs make you feel like you’re the most important person in the world with their awesome greetings and love! I’m happy for your reunion with the cute little fellow!

    • I know you understand me, I’m so glad I decided to post these pictures of Whess because I feel people here understand me completely. Sometimes when I talk about it with people who don’t have dogs I feel like they think I’m crazy for loving him as a person. But that’s what he is for me – one of the most important people of my life!

  9. He is adorable! We had a cairn terrier named Scooter that looked just like Whess. Sadly, we lost him a few years ago…but we are lucky to have our other cairn terrier named Guinness. He’s black and looks like Toto from The Wizard of Oz. We also have Riley, our little Yorkie prince. Needless to say, they are perfect and we love them to pieces! Dogs are simply the best. Loved this post.

Leave a Reply

