MISSING FALL IN CALIFORNIA

California in fall

Yesterday I mentioned that I was happy to live in a place where summer never seems to come to an end. For me there’s nothing like wearing a pair of denim shorts, a bright tank top and taking a stroll along the beach with my feet in the ocean (maybe the title of the blog gave that away?). It’s nice to go outside and feel like you’re still on vacation, but don’t take me wrong – I miss autumn so much.  I can’t help but feeling melancholy every time I see people posting fall foliage pictures and fashion layered outfits.  I have adoration for this color-rich season, and here’s what I miss the most about fall in Los Angeles:

1. Jumping into piles of golden leaves

2. Seeing autumn orange colors everywhere

3. Wrapping myself in a scarf and a warm cozy sweater

4. Wearing Uggs

5. Smelling the crisp morning air through my open windows at dawn

6. Everyone is so healthy so you feel bad eating Halloween candy

7. Carving pumpkins isn’t the same when it’s 85 degrees outside

8. Walking down the street inhaling the smell of fresh foliage

9. Curling up in front of a fireplace with a hot bowl of soup

10. Seeing kids stepping on all of the crunchy leaves that fall from the trees to the sidewalks

11. Keeping myself warm with a cup of hot chocolate

12. Taking deep breaths to cool the lungs while I’m running outside

13. Being given the chance to miss hot weather

14. Snuggling up in cold sheets

15. Sitting out in the park watching squirrels and birds harvesting the fresh fallen acorns

Fall in California

Fall in California

For those of you who are used to well-delineated seasons, what are the things you like the most about autumn? For those of you who live in a one-season place, what are the things you miss the most about this time of the year? What are the things you do to make your house feel autumnal?

Have a nice fall day!

signature

38 thoughts on “MISSING FALL IN CALIFORNIA

  1. Great photo and post! Is that you in the photo? Having lived in Michigan 52 years, I’ve had enough autumn weather. Wish I could send you a box of crunchy leaves, they do smell good. 😉

  2. Beautiful post! Fall just arrived here in Toronto. What I love most about this season are the burnt orange and yellow leaves floating everywhere. It’s just so magical:)

  3. In the Great Lakes of Avalon, Autumn is reigning supreme! The Black walnut trees have already shed their leaves and the oaks and maples are showing off. One of the reasons I chose Chile as my new home is the range of climates – I’m not a Florida or Californy kinda guy, and prefer four seasons in my year. I’ll share some autumn foliage pics with you soon. Feel free to push your toes in the wet sand for me when you’re at the beach.

    • Please share them, and make me even more jealous! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to visit South America for years, I really appreciate you’re sharing your experiences in that beautiful country. Somehow your photos make me feel I am also there 🙂

    • Dan and I have been so busy exploring the huge city of LA that we haven’t had time to make it to the mountains yet. Thank you so much for the recommendation, Oak Glen seems the perfect place to enjoy autumn colors. I just did a quick search and it’s only 1.50 min from LA! I’ll talk with my boyfriend and see if he’s up for a little fall adventure this weekend! Thank you so much!

  4. Ahhh! I am missing autumn so much right now! Especially because we’re in the middle of spring in Chile 🙂 I miss the smell, above all; the smell of sweet leaves changing, the spices of apple and wood stoves; I miss the cool of the morning and the brilliance of midday. I miss long runs on weekends… it sounds like a lot of the things on your list! Minus the Uggs. I can’t do those. And the anticipation of Thanksgiving is a big deal for me–just knowing it’s there, around the corner…

    Thanks for the reminders!

  5. Stunning photographs! I grew up in South Florida where summer never ended and it was beautiful, but come holidays things always felt odd. I now live in a place with 4 seasons and I love the changing passage of time, but I also miss the endless summer where we can be FREE enjoying the outdoors (in comfortable temperatures) year round!

  6. Hi Yael, thanks for the follow and liking my post! And hey, we have the same template! *insert girly squeal* You’ve got a new follower here 😉 As for fall, I have never experienced it before, living in tropical Singapore weather. Would love to experience autumn one day. 🙂

    • Welcome on board Mardhiah! I’m glad we can follow each other adventures now. Your last post caught my attention because I always try to be conscious of how lucky I am, and how important is to be thankful for the things we have in life. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding 🙂

  7. Here in Washington state, it’s…pumpkin everything! Pumpkin lattes, pumpkin spice candles, pumpkins at the store, at the gas station, at the bus stop…You get the idea.

  8. Autumn is my favorite season! I love the changing colors of the leaves, the smell of cinnamon, apple cider, pumpkin patches, the harvest moon, the cooler weather, etc., etc. I could go on forever with what I love about Autumn. One of the things I do inside is hang a fresh cinnamon broom in the hallway. I bring out the ceramic jack-o-lantern and place a candle in it that smells wonderful inside. Sometimes I press leaves. If you would like I will press some for you and send them your way. I did this for my brother when he lived in San Francisco as he missed the changing leaves too.

    • You’re such a sweet woman Natalie! I love the idea of hanging a fresh cinnamon broom in the hallway, I might steal your idea. Your post “Orange things” caught my attention as it’s my favorite color as well. Your vineyard must look beautiful right now… 🙂 Thanks for sharing your photos and your stories. Your site is a beautiful place to stop by and relax. Looking forward to reading more from you! Have a wonderful fall weekend!

Leave a Reply

