UNIQUE VINTAGE part III

vintage and antique collectibles

This is the last post of the series ‘Unique Vintage’ (did you miss the previous ones? Click here and here). I’m sorry it has taken me so long to post all the pictures, but I had too many good ones to hide them on my computer.

It’s crazy to think that two months ago I had no idea how to use my DSLR camera outside of Auto mode. Photography is such an amazing hobby because it is a constant work in progress. The more I read about it and the more time I spend putting into practice what I see in blogs/tutorials, the better my photos become. It is very fulfilling to look back and see how much I’ve improved in a short period of time. Being able to visually see results is amazing!

These pictures were taken with a Canon Rebel T3i and the 50mm f/1.8 lens. It’s not a high-end professional camera or anything like that, but it is perfect for beginners who want to get into digital photography.

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

vintage and antique collectibles

 

signature

21 thoughts on “UNIQUE VINTAGE part III

  1. My favorite, the shot of the typewriter keys. You’re doing so well, it’s hard to always find time to be dedicated to a passion, but you do.

    • That is my favorite too, it turned out pretty well 🙂 I do most of my photography during the weekends, I’m lucky because photography is something that you can practice anywhere – no matter where you go. Have a nice weekend Misa! 🙂

  2. Hi Yael, thanks for stopping by my blog awhile ago. You have a great blog and as an artist and photographer ‘in training” myself, 🙂 let me say I think you have a real eye for composition. Your photos are beautiful and I wish you everything of the best with your new photographic journey.

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging words! It means a lot that professional photographers like you share your knowledge and help others get better. I love reading through your photography tips posts, they are very well-organized and easy to follow. Looking forward to reading more!

  3. I love places like this but there aren’t too many around where I live. I love exploring and seeing all the treasures.
    gorgeous pictures! I need to get better about practicing taking pictures with my camera off the automatic mode. Someday I will get better. haha. 🙂

    • Thank you Kiki! I edited these photos using Photoshop CS5, watching at some vintage effect tutorials and also applying some vintage actions I downloaded from http://www.deviantart.com. I’m not good enough at PS yet to post a tutorial, but I’m planning on posting a series of editing tutorials once I get better at it. I only have PS at work so I was thinking to adquire Lightroom to be able to edit my pictures at home as well. I’d appreciate if you can tell me about your experience with LR and if it’s worth the investment 🙂

      • I’ll probably be flamed, but I did not purchase any of the Adobe software that I ‘own’. I use both PS Elements and LR 5, I think. I am not professional by any means, but have been using PS for ten years, and LR for only maybe one or two years. I’m pretty basic, but have been struggling to create the old vintage/matte feel to my photos without using actions. They can be crazy expensive. And the free ones just don’t seem to get the look I want.. More practice!

      • I’m not sure how good or bad the vintage actions for LR are, but I have found pretty nice ones for PS CS5. If you like the editing of photos you can try these actions out and see if they work on your images. I’m not sure if you can install PS actions into PS Elements, if that’s the case, I would not mind to send them to you 😉

      • I may actually have some that I forgot about. I’ll let you know if I need them! I do remember that the ones I did try to install were kind of glitchy because I don’t think they were intended for Elements..

  4. Pingback: Threes: Haikus from Pictures! | Blue Loft

Leave a Reply

