POTATO SKILLET BREAKFAST with sausage, eggs and veggies

Potato skillet breakfast

My favorite Sunday meal is breakfast; or brunch depending on what time I wake up. During the week I usually eat prosciutto sandwiches because it is the closest thing to the Spanish ham that I could find in the US. It reminds me the breakfasts that my mom used to prepare for me in Spain so it feels good to start the week feeling close to home. Plus, it is fast and easy.

I am a happy camper with my weekday breakfasts, but when the weekend rolls around I take advantage of the extra time and try to make something more special and fun. There is such an assortment of amazing dishes which fit into the combo morning/lunch category and I’m always seeking out new delicious recipes.

Last Sunday Dan gave me the idea to cook a potato skillet with sausage, eggs and some veggies that we had on hand. Β I am a big potato fan so I was quickly sold on that idea. Β This breakfast skillet ended up being a fabulous brunch and even though it took a bit of time to prepare it was quite easy. Β It was a big hit, and I’m sure Dan will request it again!!

Ingredients (2 servings)

  • 3 medium white potatoes, peeled and diced small
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper, diced
  • 1/2 zucchini, sliced
  • 5-6 mushrooms, diced
  • 2 turkey sausages
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella and Italian style cheese
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Seasonings, to taste: salt, black pepper and parsley

Ingredients

Directions

  • Place sliced sausage in a large skillet. Cook over medium-high heat until evenly brown. Remove sausage slices and set aside.
  • Add potatoes and chopped onion in skillet, seasoned salt and black pepper. Cook until potatoes are tender, stirring often.
  • At the same time, cook vegetables in another pan and stir often until they are tender.
  • Mix all ingredients in skillet and season with salt, black pepper and parsley. Spread with mozzarella and Italian cheese until melted.
  • Serve with 2 sunny-side up eggs.

Diced potatoes and chopped onions

Cook veggies and stir occasionally

Add cheese to the mixture

Breakfast skillet

This recipe can easily be altered to fit your own tastes. Try mixing some of your favorite veggies or breakfast meats. Kiwi enjoyed this meal, I’m sure you’ll do too! πŸ˜‰

Kiwi enjoying his breakfast

Serve sunny-side eggs on top

Potato skillet breakfast recipe

signature

5 thoughts on “POTATO SKILLET BREAKFAST with sausage, eggs and veggies

    • Oh yeah it is a substantial breakfast! I didn’t have lunch that day πŸ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by! I see you also post recipes in your blog – I’ll definitely check them out!

Leave a Reply

