HIKING IN MALIBU

Hiking in Malibu

Last Sunday we packed our bags with a bunch of water bottles and went on an adventure. It had been so long since last time I went hiking so I was beyond excited! Dan read about this easy/moderate hiking trail in Malibu that was supposed to be very nice, with amazing views of some beautiful mansions and Escondido Falls. It was a 40 minute drive from our place so we thought it was worth to check it out. Β It’s unbelievable how one month in Los Angeles has changed my relative concept of ‘distances’.

Mansion in Malibu

Bushes with colorful flowers

We left the car at the entrance of the Escondido Canyon park and followed the road leading to the hiking trail. It was a long walk but the view of the nice houses paid off. I was hoping to see some celebrities getting out of their mansion or taking a bath in their swimming pools, but that never happened (I wanted to take a million-dollar photo!). Anyways, the first part of the path was relatively easy and not difficult to follow, so I took my time to snap some shots of the colorful flowers and leaves.

The first part of the trail

Colorful leaves

The trail was nice but I was so disappointed when I saw that the waterfalls were completely dry. I didn’t expect them to be in full effect but come on – at least give me a little trickle! No luck. When we were at the lower fall taking a break to drink some water, we saw a group of people climbing up a rocky hill. We couldn’t stop our curiosity so we decided to try it out and see what was there.

Dan at the first waterfall

Mom and her son in the waterfall

First waterfall

Honestly, I didn’t expect the climb to the upper waterfalls to be that dangerous, but it ended up being a good workout. There was a lot of loose dirt and rocks that were falling off as people climbed. I saw kids climbing up the mountain and it made me so nervous thinking that they could easily fall off. There are some ropes tied that help you along the way, but for the most part you depend exclusively on your hands and feet. I read some reviews from people who have had accidents climbing those rocks, so make sure you take your time and watch your step if you decide to go.

Climbing up to the upper waterfalls

Climbing up to the waterfalls

We didn’t make it to the top because we saw that the biggest waterfall was also dry and it was starting to get very hot. We enjoyed the beauty of the Malibu mountains though. Climbing back down was definitely the scariest part of the hiking, but the most rewarding at the same time. I love putting myself in risky situations and feel the adrenaline rush. Β We had so much fun, and that night took me literally 1.5 seconds to fall asleep – so exhausted!

Good sneakers to climb up the mountain

Views of the top of the mountain

Yael at Escondido Falls

signature

16 thoughts on “HIKING IN MALIBU

  1. Hi, thanks for stopping by my blog and dropping a few ‘likes’ along the way! I was in California a year ago, on honeymoon. I’ll be following your photographic learning journey with interest, if there is any help or advice I can offer, please just ask! Love the photos, a great start so far! Keep up th good work!

    • Thank you so much for your comment Andrew, it means a lot! I moved to California a month ago from Spain and I’m really enjoying this state – so many things to do and places to visit. I’m always looking for advice from professional photographers like you, it definitely helps me to keep learning and being motivated! Can’t wait to see Day 234 picture πŸ™‚

  2. Hello there! So nice of you to follow my blog. Your blog is beautiful- you are so full of life. Looking forward to seeing more of your photography, and check to see if you are following your list :).
    Take care!

    • Hi! Thank you so much for stopping by!
      Escondido Falls is a really nice hike with cool views of Malibu mountains. The first part of the path is easy and I believe your son would be able to handle it without problem. However, once you reach the first waterfall the path gets harder and pretty dangerous. I saw kids climbing up the rocky hills and stuff, but honestly I would not put my kid in that situation. I would go and stop at the first waterfall – I’m sure you guys will have a great time there!

    • Thank you so much! It was a really nice trail, I definitely recommend it for those who enjoy hiking. There were random bushes covered in fall colors, it was so cool to see πŸ™‚ I bet now they look even better!

  3. Nothing so disappointing as a dry waterfall! Definitely looks a bit challenging.
    I love your wistful shot of those pink leaves. Many thanks for following. We travel in very different places πŸ™‚

    • Indeed! I wasn’t expecting the waterfalls to be that dry… This means I’ll have to do the hike again in March/April πŸ™‚ Thanks for taking the time to comment, I hope to see you around!

Leave a Reply

