JOY IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

My camera and I

This weekend I got to explore two of the most popular neighborhoods of Los Angeles – Venice and Santa Monica. It’s surprising how much this city has to offer, especially if you have a car to move around and don’t mind spending some time driving.

I had so much fun practicing photography in the colorful and lively streets of these two neighborhoods, and I am pretty proud of the final result. All the following pictures were taken with a Canon Rebel T3i camera and the 50 mm 1.8 lens. I honestly think it is a perfect lens to start learning about manual mode, and it represents a small investment in comparison with many of the other lenses out there ($125).

Venice Canals

Last Saturday started off taking a walk around The Venice Canals. I’ll give full credit to Dan for finding this beautiful spot that reminded me Italy so much. Venice is well-known for their beach and the board walk, but not everybody knows about the existence of these canals. It is the perfect place to go if you want to run away from the chaos of Venice Beach. I did not spend as much time as I would have liked because we couldn’t find a place to park, but I found so much peace there. I’ll definitely bike there again to fully enjoy the beauty of their houses, bridges and canoes.

Yael at Venice Canals

sm30

Venice Canals

Venice Canals

Venice Canals

After leaving this little spot of Europe in Southern California,  we headed to Santa Monica pier to be one more of the thousands of tourists that are concentrated there on weekends.

It is incredible how much life you can find in that place. There are parents with their kids having fun at the amusement park, teenage couples sharing ice-cream cones, artists painting portraits, random people entertaining the audience with animals, grandparents walking around with their dogs and tourists eating fresh seafood in the local restaurants.

Lizard pet in Santa Monica

Dan enjoying a dance show

Snake show in Santa Monica

Santa Monica pier

I enjoyed every minute of my time there even though it was very crowded. The weather was perfect and that definitely helped me to take nice pictures as well as practice the exposure settings I learned during the past week (check the post here).

Santa Monica end of route 66 sign Me at Santa Monica pier

Me at Santa Monica pier

Dan and I having fun at the pier

In the pier there are also a lot of small stores that sell beach and surf stuff – definitely worth to take a look if you’re looking for some souvenirs. Although you usually find the same kind of things there,  I always have so much fun checking out those places. I fell in love with these red hippie vans! Aren’t they cool?

Hippie vans

School bus

Dan and I being goofy at the store

In love with this car!

I hope you’re having a nice start of the week!

signature

16 thoughts on “JOY IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

  1. Hey I love your blog’ I love all your photos! What caught my eye was the Route 66 photo. I literally live off Route 66 in Claremore Oklahoma. It goes right thru our small town. Also the photo with the snake was brave! Amazing world we live in and it’s nice that photos tell such a fascinating tale! Keep snapping! 😃🌸

  2. Hi Yael!

    Thanks for following purelysubjective. I’m so glad I got to discover your blog through the connection! Your photos are lovely, and it’s fun for me to experience my home through the eyes of some one discovering it for the first time. I hope you have a great time in SoCal! Also, as I can see you’re a bit of a foodie, I wanted to share with you my three favorite spots to eat around LA. I’m totally a café/bakery girl, so these are sweet little spots to get a latté, a sandwich, and a pastry rather than full-on restaurants. Anyhow, if you’re ever looking for new lunch spots or a nice place to read a book, my faves are Clementine’s in Century City, Huckleberry in Santa Monica, and Little Flower Candy Co. in Pasadena. If you don’t already know these spots they’re worth a visit! Happy explorations. 🙂

    -Jourdie

    • Hi Jourdie!
      Thank you so much for stopping by my blog, I’m so glad to have you on board. I’m totally a cafe/bakery girl and I’m always searching for new lovely cafe shops in the city! I just did a quick search on your recommendations and these places look perfect for me! I’ll definitely check them out! Thank you so much for sharing!!! :):)

      • Happy to be able to share wonderful places with people who appreciate them. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do! Perhaps you’ll take some pics and write about how it goes… 😉

  3. Lots to see in California … wait till you go to San Diego! Three places to visit is Balboa Park, Old Town, Seashore Village. Don’t go on a holiday – it’s the 4th vacation spot in the US, so mega problems with parking then.

    • I visited San Diego two years ago with some Spanish friends, but I´m definitely looking forward to going again! I loved that city, we even saw dolphins very close to the shore last time I was there. We actually visited Balboa Island two weeks ago, I assume it’s the same area than Balboa Park? Thank you so much for the recommendations, I’ll google them and see if I can make it there! 🙂

      • Balboa Park in San Diego is different than Balboa island! Balboa Park is close to the airport in San Diego, and it has a botanical garden, several museums, and an artist village, and an open air palace for concerts., and a science museum, also several cottages for different countries, but those are only open at specific events. Totally forgot Sea World – pricey but definitely worth if you have never been there and like orka whales. Hope your fingers haven’t frozen off this weekend in Chicago:):)

Leave a Reply

