ARE YOU A ROOKIE IN PHOTOGRAPHY JUST LIKE ME?

Hi!

Are you tired of having a nice camera and not knowing how to use it? Are you jealous of other bloggers that post awesome pics in their blogs? Do you want to become a good photographer but just don’t know where to start? Welcome to my club!

I’ve been wanting to be a good photographer forever as I feel a lot of satisfaction when I’m behind the camera capturing beauty. My main purpose is not to focus my career on this field, but to be loyal to my passion and plenty enjoy this hobby of mine. Now it’s finally time to be determinant and get to know all the particularities of this amazing world, and somehow make it part of my life.

I honestly believe that it’s not necessary to pay a stupid amount of money in photography courses or fancy cameras in order to be successful. It has more to do with knowing the basic features of your camera and gear like the back of your hand and be creative. I’m sure that having a really good camera does improve your work, but we all understand that not everybody can start learning with a camera that cost thousands of dollars. The same way the majority of us didn’t learn how to drive in a Ferrari (if you did, tell me about it!!), but we became awesome drivers with a cheaper car.

My project for the next weeks will be reading as many articles, books, magazines, and blogs as I can to teach myself the basics of photography and begin to understand the camera and lenses that I already own. Every week I’ll post the things that I have learned as well as the resources that I find useful. I want to document my progress to see my evolution and encourage myself to get better and better. The sky is the limit guys!!

If you are a professional photographer and want to share your wisdom, you will make my day! And if you are a passionate photographer but need some discipline like me… let’s start this journey together! 🙂

Warhol collage

signature

19 thoughts on “ARE YOU A ROOKIE IN PHOTOGRAPHY JUST LIKE ME?

  1. I love photography! We have a nice dslr that we got about 1 1/2 years ago. I play around with it but I definitely don’t know how to use it to it’s full ability. I’ll be curious to see what you come up with!

  2. Hello there!! I wouldn`t call myself a professional photographer. I never will; as I, just like you, don`t want photography to be the main goal in my life. Nevertheless, photography has been a passion of mine for some time now. I usually take photos of buildings and people and share them on my blog so please feel free to have a look and let me know what you think! http://bmyshot.wordpress.com/
    Keep in touch 😉

    • Hi Bob!
      Thanks for stopping by! I’ll definitely check out your blog, and I’m sure I’ll learn a lot from it! 🙂 What camera are you shooting with?
      Keep in contact, of course!!!

      • I use a Canon 1100D and a 50mm f1.8 lens for portraits. I usually use photoshop to make my photos look better by changing the colors and contrasts a bit but I always try not to “overuse” it. Glad we met in this virtual world!! Let me know what you think of the photos! Don`t be too shy to critisize either!!

      • There is nothing to criticize in your last posts. I honestly think the pics are amazing, specially the portraits. I use a Canon Rebel T3i, and I recently got a 50mm f1.8 lens as well! Your portraits are an inspiration for me. I’d LOVE to have Photoshop, but i can’t afford it right now. Did you use a student discount? I’ve heard that a lot of people do that…

      • I study aarchitecture so luckily our university provides us with free versione of programs such as Photoshop and Autocad!

  3. I agree with you right there. I am also new to photography and I am currently taking a photography course this semester. It is wiser to learn and practice the basics, especially the camera’s basic settings, than to invest on gears.

    • Hello!

      It’s always so good meeting new people that share my passion. How’s your photography course going? I bet it’s so much fun! What have you learnt so far? 🙂
      I see you also like to write. I can’t wait to read your next posts!

      Yael

      • Definitely, I’m having so much fun. Learning some guidelines for composition really helps in improving my skills. Plus, the addition of photojournalism really excites me.
        Anyways, thank you for stopping by at my other blog. I’m also looking forward to your photos. 😀

  4. Hi Yael, I came across your blog through wordpress suggestions, hello! I have been in your position ad i guess i still am in the sense that i am always trying to improve my photography. I did a course ‘introduction to digital photography’ which taught me the basics and for that it was really good. The course could have been better but just for covering the basics it was good. And that’s all you need to start with really, understanding aperture, shutter speed, ISO and then practice, learn from doing it.

    I have written a summary of what I’ve learned from the course in my blog here http://wp.me/p3B8xy-1b

    And I use my photos in my blog as a way to improve and illustrate my stories.

    Good luck with your week.
    Laura

    • Hi Laura!!!

      Thank you so much for stopping by and introducing me to your photography background. I was thinking to take an online course to learn the basics, but I’m not sure if that’s not something I can do by myself. Do you think I can learn the basics with the free content that there is available on Internet? I prefer to invest the money maybe on editing software, you know? But yeah I’m still thinking about it…
      I read you use a Canon 550D – which lens do you like the most?
      I think you post is very useful, thanks a lot! Your son is so cute btw 🙂

      Keep in contact!

      • Hi Yael,
        Glad you found my post useful. If you have time you can learn a lot from free tutorials, podcasts, blogs etc. There is so much stuff available these days. I don’t have a lot of time (with my son) so I prefer when I set time apart to either have a session with a photographer or go on a course as I did last year.
        The editing software is important as simple touches make photographs stand out, so i guess it is your choice.
        Thanks for my son 🙂 He is a cutie.

        We’ll be in touch.

  5. This is so cute and yes my answer is yes! I tend to always photograph the same things and need to get out of my small box! I love you blog it’s so cheerful and very candid! I believe we all are goo photographers because photography is all about show your world to someone else and everyone had a different view! That’s what I love about your blog! 🌸🌸🌸

  6. Thanks for stopping by Joy Jumps Too! I’m still a total novice relying completely on my iPhone. I’ve been looking at DSLR cameras and am hoping to snap one up at a good price during the holiday shopping sales. Please let me know if you have any suggestions!

    • I remember the day when I got my DSLR, what an exciting moment! I own a Canon EOS Rebel T3i and I couldn’t be happier with it. I honestly believe it’s the perfect camera to start learning digital photography, especially if you’re just an amateur photographer and don’t pretend to make a living from your images. All the pictures you see on my blog are taken with that camera and edited with Photoshop CS5 when needed. I recently started recording some videos of my trips and I’m gladly impress by the quality of the video camera as well. Overall I think it’s a very complete camera, but it all depends on your needs, the kind of photography you want to pursue and your budget. Best of luck on your hunt!

Leave a Reply

