GOING BLUE FOR A NIGHT

Dodgers game

Hello!

I can finally say that I’m completely integrated into the California lifestyle! Last Friday I went to a Dodgers baseball game and it was awesome! I have to admit that I’ve never been a big fan of this sport, since I grew up in a country where soccer is by far the most popular sport. Baseball seemed boring out of context to me because, in the end, it was just a bunch of men standing on a field waiting for a tiny ball to come their way. This is gradually changing, though. Dan is patiently introducing me to some of its strategies and I’m definitely learning how to appreciate a good game.

Dodgers game

I also have to say that it was not the first time I went to a baseball stadium. Last summer while I was living in Atlanta, my boyfriend surprised me with two tickets for a Braves game. At that time, my understanding of baseball rules was zero so I couldn’t properly appreciate the game. Fortunately, this last time was different. I actually understood what was going on when people went crazy, and that made my experience a thousand times better! I’m a little bit frustrated though. I wanted so badly to see my face on the big screen during the kiss cam breakup (you know? to have a cool story to explain to my friends and all that), but that moment never came. Next time, maybe?

I know I live in LA, and I’m supposed to accept that traffic is part of my daily life. Fine. I’m doing a pretty good job with that, I promise, but getting to the Dodgers stadium that night was nuts! Tickets were sold out, and it took us about 2 hours to drive 22 miles. Crazy, huh? I know. I’d never seen that many cars reunited in the same place! Good thing I have a boyfriend who is always up for taking stupid/funny phone pics with me to kill some time.

Dodgers game

The best thing about getting stock in traffic was to be able to step out of the car to enjoy the view of LA downtown skyline and take some beautiful pictures of the sunset. I was that amazed by the beauty of the landscape that I spent way to much time outside, and when I turned around to get into the car again, I realized that Dan and the car weren’t behind me anymore. All of a sudden I found myself lost in the middle of hundreds of cars. No phone. No purse. No ticket. Nothing.
My instinct reaction was to start running towards the queue of cars until I could find mine, and in the meantime, I became the entertainment for some bored people that were stocked in the parking lot traffic. I even got some encouraging words from some of the drivers! When I finally reached the car, I saw Dan looking through the left mirror while making fun of me. I guess I deserved that, so I decided to join the ‘let’s make fun of Yael‘ party as well. Anyways, it was a good unplanned workout.

Dodgers game

Dodgers game

Dodgers game

After all the hassle we finally made it to the game. The stadium was completely full, and it was an unbelievable sensation to see thousands of people covered in blue uniforms, singing and screaming at the same time to support their team. Our seats were in the pavilion of the center field, and I thought we had a great view considering that we paid $17 for the tickets. The vibes of that stadium make the trip worth to go – even if baseball doesn’t fit you. Really, it’s like being in a huge party with 40,000 people around you, eating and drinking non-stop.
Dodgers ended up scoring 2 home runs against 1 from The Cincinnati Reds, so the blue fans were really happy! A firework show took place at the end of the game, but Dan and I were already eating pizza at a bar that we found close by. Yeah, we were that freaked out by the traffic that we decided to leave the game a little bit earlier than the rest. So proud of our decision!

Dodgers game

Dodgers game

Dodgers game

Dodgers game

signature

Leave a Reply

