A NEW SUNDAY TRADITION

Living in a new place usually implies new traditions, right? Well, I just made up my mind that I want to try a new breakfast/brunch recipe every TWO Sundays (I’ll reserve the breaks in between to be lazy and explore tasty breakfast spots in LA). I love cooking. I love food. I love trying new things. It seems like this is the right thing to do for me, and I’m very excited!

The final result will be presented by KIWI. Who is this? Kiwi is a teddy turtle-frog that I got for Dan two years ago on his birthday. I know what you guys are thinking – ‘She gave a teddy turtle to her boyfriend as a present and they’re still together?’. As everything in life, there is a reason why I violated one of the fundamental rules of dating a guy. Truth be told, I was in search of a real turtle. He always call me this way (long story that I might write about one day), so I figured it would make him laugh a lot if I showed up with one.

Dan and Kiwi shaving date

A friend and I took a bus out of campus to go to the only pet store that we could find in Champaign, but once we got there my excitement lasted literally 2 min. The employee told me that it was illegal to sell baby turtles in Illinois, so my only option was to buy a gigantic $300 turtle. “Uhm, no thanks. I want to make him giggle, not to freak the hell out of him”. Alright, let’s go for the Plan B. What?! I didn’t have one! I started panicking – 2 hours left until Dan would show up in my apartment. Greaaaat. I desperately headed to the main street on campus praying for a sign to show up. I stopped at Walgreens first to get some coconut M&M to cheer myself up, when all of a sudden, I saw this cute green plush ball looking at me. B.I.N.G.O. I’ve never been that proud of my M&M’s addiction up to that moment!

Once at home, I dressed him up with one of my favorite t-shirts and put some of my perfume on him. He was ready to meet ‘daddy’. Dan ended up loving the surprise (mission accomplished!), and Kiwi definitely warmed him up when I had to return back to Spain. As you can see in the photo above, they both get along very well! 😉

So now, after long months apart, Kiwi is living with us in Los Angeles. And like me, he can’t wait to show you our new Sunday homemade breakfasts!

Here is the first one – made it yesterday. Spanish Omelet + Delicious Pancakes with milk chocolate, vanilla & cookies ice cream and a selection of various fruits. The perfect combination of Spanish and American food!

Breakfast

Breakfast

Breakfast

Breakfast

To know how to make a Spanish omelet or tortilla española click here.

To know how to make American pancakes, click here.

signature

Leave a Reply

