CHARM IN THE MIDWEST

Park Ridge, Ilinois

I finally had some time to stroll around my new little city (life has been busy lately) and started to get familiar with the streets and main buildings. I am still in that point where if Dan left me alone in the middle of downtown without a GPS, I would certainly not be able to find my way home. Everything looks the same to me!

We might not have the beach close-by as we were used to, but there is plenty of charm here. My life routine changed completely two weeks ago, but I’m happy to say that I have embraced this change better than I thought I would. Park Ridge has meaning to me; it is the city where my man grew up and I just love to see some of the places where his best childhood memories took place.  Every time we go out there is a new story to hear, something new to learn about him. So cool.

This Chicago suburb is so cozy and friendly, and I like that it has some personality attached to it. There is a magical combination of old and new, with beautiful quaint buildings lining the streets and cute boutiques to shop around. The houses are so unique too, you won’t find one similar to another.

I can’t wait for spring to arrive to see the flowers and trees blossom. It’s going to be wonderful!

Park Ridge, Illinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Yael Serena

Park Ridge, Ilinois

Park Ridge, Ilinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Dan Schallmo

Park Ridge, Illinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Yael Serena

Yael Serena

Park Ridge, Ilinois

Park Ridge, Ilinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Park Ridge, Illinois

Park Ridge, Ilinois

Dan Schallmo

Park Ridge, Ilinois

Park Ridge, Ilinois

Park Ridge, Ilinois

 

PS: I’m obsessed with these picture frames – aren’t they cute? I totally need one.

Have a great day! :)

feet from shore

31 thoughts on “CHARM IN THE MIDWEST

  1. Love these photos Yael, good to see you are getting along with your new surroundings. Give it another two weeks, it will warm up to a respectable temperature. Then come the bugs…

  2. It is always fun to explore a new place. We moved to America in October and I am still enjoying wandering down a different street or poking around a different town. It’s like being a tourist in your own backyard.

      • I’ve been to roughly half the states so I’m intent on seeing all 50 and also revisiting the ones I’ve already travelled to with my children so I can see it anew through their eyes. Every state is like a different country.

  3. So happy to see you’re enjoying your new city! I know you loved California, but Park Ridge definitely has charm and it really seems to suit you! The warmer weather will definitely make it even more lovely <3

  4. Hi Yael! looks like you’re settling nicely into your new city.:) It looks like you’ve found some new photo ops. I love that photo of you on the train tracks.

    Have fun exploring!

    xox

    Donna

    • Hi Donna! There are always new opportunities in photography – that’s the cool thing about it :) I like that picture too, but Dan says that it looks like I’m playing an invisible guitar haha.

      Hope everything is well with you too!!

  5. glad you’re keeping such a positive perspective on this change, and hope you love your new home! it’s always fun to live in a variety of places and experience the different charms each part of the world has to offer. embrace it while you’re there.

Leave a Reply

