HEY LOOK, I GOT A FISH!

Fishing in Chicago

The weather was wonderful in Chicago this past weekend – it was actually nice to be outside! We were debating whether to go to the zoo or fishing with my in-laws, and since they preferred the latter, we went for it. I’d never been fishing before, so I thought it would be cool to try something new and see if I liked it. And I certainly did!

We started the day off by going to get our licenses and some bait. It is crazy how many things you have to take into account when you are going fishing – choose the right hook, the right bait, the right bobber, etc. Thank God Michelle knew what she was doing and decided for us.
Our initial plan was to go to Lake Michigan, but one of the salesmen recommended we go to Busse Lake in Elk Grove and we followed his advice. The area was very nice, even though it was a little bit crowded when we got there.

Dan and I were terrible with the fishing pole; so we had to spend most of our time untangling the fishing line instead of catching bluegills. It was the perfect excuse to make fun of each other though. Alex and Michelle were awesome, and they caught a fish every 2 minutes at least!

Overall, it was such a fun experience and I can’t wait to learn more about it!

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

IMG_5116

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

Fishing in Chicago

And you guys, have you tried to do something out of the ordinary this past weekend? Have you ever gone fishing? If so, did you like it?

I hope you are having a great start of the week!

feet from shore

21 thoughts on “HEY LOOK, I GOT A FISH!

  1. Congrats on the fish. Used to go with the family long time ago when we met for the holidays as we lived far apart. Nowadays only my father continue to go fishing but I believe it’s more of an excuse to be out of the house in nature ;)

    • I’m like you, I had no idea fishing was so complicated! There are so many things going on that you definitely should go with someone who knows what he/she is doing. I encourage you to try it someday though, I’m sure you would like it!

  2. I have such great memories of fishing! My dad used to fish a lot when my sister and I were little. Sometimes he took us with him and even bought us our own rod. And every autumn we’d go to Denmark on vacation and fish there also. :) I think I wouldn’t appreciate the slippery smelly fish as much now as when I did then ;)

    • It’s so cool that you guys got to fish together, it is definitely a fun activity to do with family! The connection you feel with nature is incredible, especially if the scenery is beautiful. You should convince your dad and sis to go fishing again and celebrate the old times!

  3. Hola Yael!! Wow what a new lifestyle! Fishing is something I did only a couple of times in my life, but I have fun memories. One time a strong fish took my fishing hook with him. :) Did you touch the worms?

    • Hi Tonja!! I did not touch the worms, that was definitely my man’s job. There were only bluegills in that lake, so we didn’t have the change to catch a big fish. Hopefully next time! How’s LA treating you? Are you scared about earthquakes yet?

  4. I grew up a bit north of you, in Wisconsin, on a lake. I probably caught more fish by the time I was 18 than most people ever will. Now, I don’t need that as a reason to go out into nature, but certainly have fond thoughts of fishing, and eating them too. I can only compare Friday night fish fry dinners to seafood tapas and drinks in a little bar/restaurant in Andalucia along the coast. Completely different experiences but the same good feelings. :)

    • I’m sure you would be able to teach me a couple of things then, I’m such a fishing rookie. I see you are a big fan of Spanish tapas, which means we have a lot of things in common already. Tapas nights is definitely one of the things that I miss the most about my country :)

      • Sebastiana, my wife, best friend and soul mate was from Andalucia, and we spent some time there, many years ago, before she passed away from cancer. We were planning on spending our retirement in Chipiona, her hometown. I loved being there, but I haven’t been for a long time. I still hope to visit. It’s good to see you are embracing the culture here without forgetting your home. :)

  5. Great shots…takes me back to my childhood. We use to fish a lot, bluegill, bass and trout… Really liked hanging out with family and friends, and of course the fresh fish dinner that would follow. Much fun, tangled lines and all!

    • Fishing is definitely a lot of fun, no matter how old you are. I’m glad I got to discover this activity last weekend, who knows, maybe one day I’ll become a pro! haha We didn’t take any fish with us because they were very small, but I would have loved to eat some fresh fish that night!

  6. I’m assuming you ate the fish. How did they taste? Haha. I used to fish as a kid, and that was a great life experience. In high school, I wanted to go fish just so I could relax – I didn’t even have bait. I mostly just wanted to sit by the water and chill. (I don’t know why I needed to have a pole). But I got hassled by the police who said I needed a license even if I wasn’t actually fishing. They said as long as I had a hook in the water, they could fine me. So I went home.

    • We did not take any fish with us, they were very small. I hope next time we can actually catch a decent-size salmon and take it home! I heard police is very strict with fishing permits here in Illinois, and you can easily get a $150 ticket if you don’t have a license. The one-year license is only 16 bucks, so it is pretty stupid to run the risk of getting caught.

Leave a Reply

