EAT SMART

IMG_4299 copy

After I moved out to the US a few months ago, my body started to react in a very weird way to the food I eat here. Even though I try to stay loyal to the Mediterranean diet, for some reason I feel like I have more “fast food” and “sugar” temptations here. We have such fast access to delicious but unhealthy food, that sometimes it’s hard to stop yourself from eating what sounds good at the moment. I’m not proud to admit that I haven’t made the right choices when it comes down to food lately, and it’s time to change that.

I really want to start a healthier lifestyle, nourish my body with the right proteins and vitamins, and change how I eat and view food. In two words: Eat Smart! I even joined a gym, and I plan to workout regularly. So yeah guys, I’m in search for healthy and nutritious recipes, so if you have any good recommendations, bring them on please!

Here are a few pictures of a delicious breakfast that Dan and I had a few weeks ago in Bella Trattoria. From now on, my breakfasts are going to look VERY different! Bye bye bacon!!

 

IMG_4284

IMG_4286

IMG_4279

IMG_4271

IMG_4289 copy

IMG_4266

IMG_4293

IMG_4267

feet from shore

 

 

23 thoughts on “EAT SMART

  1. Most things here in the states are loaded with sugar, partially hydrogenated oils, artificial flavors/colors and a host of other crap and chemicals. It isn’t food – it’s food product. Step away from the fast food – that stuff will kill you :-)

  2. So much of the American diet is junk, Yael. No surprise we have become an overweight nation, myself included. I hope you keep your diet under control. I could learn from you.

    • I’ve been doing some research and it is crazy how many bad things we don’t know about the food we eat in a daily basis. From now on I’ll try to cook healthier and more natural recipes; as well as forcing myself to stop using ingredients that I love but don’t add anything good into my body. It’s never too late John, if you are not happy with your diet I challenge you to change it! :)

  3. I’ve switched to a mostly processed food free diet and eliminated all the issues my body was having with food. My three favorite recipes are all gluten free but you could substitute for wheat products if you don’t have issues with gluten. Breakfast scramble: zucchini, onions, bell peppers, venison or chicken and occasionally eggplant sauteed with some garlic and black pepper, add an egg and optional cheese and it’s a pretty filling and tasty morning meal. Greek yogurt Alfredo sauce: 1/3rd cup Greek yogurt with 1/8th cup water, mix in garlic, black pepper and parmesan to taste and slowly heat with 1/4 to 1/3rd cup Italian cheese blend. You can also add a pureed avocado to the sauce for a slightly different twist if you happen to like avocado. Much lower in fat and calories than traditional Alfredo sauces…add to pasta of your choice. Meat & veggie flatbread: sautee eggplant, zucchini, onions, bell peppers, meat of your choice and garlic in a bit of olive oil. Prepare your flatbread crust using the recipe of your choice and spread marinara sauce over it. Top with meat and veggie mixture and fresh mozzarella and bake at 400 for 12- 18 minutes (or per crust recipe) Not sure if any of these will interest you but figured I’d share anyway.

    • Thank you SO much for sharing these recipes, they look absolutely perfect! I’m a big fan of Alfredo Sauce, but I always try to avoid it because I know how fatty it is. I can’t wait to try your healthier version of it, I’m sure it’s delicious! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your favorite recipes with me, it means a lot. You are awesome :)

      • You’re welcome. :) I’ve found you can substitute Greek yogurt for milk/butter/oil in almost all recipes with minimal change in flavor and after awhile you don’t notice any flavor change because you get used to the new flavor profile…plus you get the added benefit of additional protein in your dishes.

  4. Awesome post, Yael! Like you, I’m often tempted by all the mouthwatering (but not so good for you) food out there! My friend took me to this little Italian dessert place and I had stop myself from ordering everything on the menu.:) But given my health history, I try to keep things in moderation. I’ve been trying to eat healthier and it seems to be working. I’ve got tons of recipes I’d be happy to share with you

    xoxo Donna

    • Smart decision! Our own health is something that should be at the top of our priorities. It makes me sad to see that most of the times people realize about that when it’s too late. I’d love to try out some of your favorite recipes! :)

  5. I became vegetarian a little less than a year ago for moral and ethical reasons, but I can def say that my body has never felt better. I have always been working out, and thought that I needed meat in order to get enough protein, but figured out that was not true. I have so much more energy now, and perform much better not only in gym, but in every aspect of life. Best thing I have ever done to my myself and my body. And you will automatically avoid the fast-food as most is based on meat ;)

  6. I agree, it’s hard to eat anything here. Everything in the stores and restaurants are so overly processed, it’s crazy. Eating simple is key. A lot of us exercisers have what we call a “cheat day” or “cheat meal”. We try to eat healthy all week, and then we reward ourselves one day with something naughty. It helps!

  7. Hi Yael, I totally understand your predicament… I have always been quite good at getting to the gym and lifting weights, however I found that over time I seemed to have less and less energy. My diet has always been pretty good as I don’t particularly like McD’s etc, but unfortunately it is also very easy to eat too much processed food here in Australia. I knew I had to make a dietary shift with my wedding fast approaching (we tied the knot 4 weeks ago and naturally we wanted to look our best), and so I started running for the first time in years, and I also read a good book called The 150 Most Effective Ways to Boost Your Energy by Jonny Bowden which certainly helped. It was all common sense stuff, but I think you almost forget just how much sugar creeps into your diet, and how too many beautifully cooked meals out (the food here in Melbourne is fantastic – foodie heaven!) are still more calorie loaded than the body really needs… Bottom line, I cut out the sugar, cut right back on the wheat and bread and now eat foods with minimal processing or preservatives and my energy levels are back to when I was in my early twenties…! Wishing you all the best, Michael.

  8. I hear you, Yael!

    I am vegetarian and allergic to all kinds of products that contain any kind of animal milk. So, although it is comparibly easy to find healthy food in Germany, it can be kind of an odyssey to find the right stuff for me, especially when I am travelling.
    It also was very tempting for me, at first, to eat some of the milk containing products I was used to, in spite of the allergy (after I finally found out about it). Meanwhile it’s simply not an option for me, anymore and I find it fairly easy to stay away from it.
    It always helps me to remember how it makes me feel when eat things that are unhealthy for me. My body then often feels slower and heavier, for example, or it makes me feel like I ate glue or something.
    I don’t like to feel like that. Remembering that some kinds of food have that or worse effect on me, although they may seem tempting, at first, helps me to opt for healthier choices. And remembering how good healthy food feels in the body makes the choice even easier.

    Maybe that works for you, too?

    Much love,
    Steffi

Leave a Reply

