FISHERMAN’S VILLAGE, a place to dream

Marina del Rey, California

What I’m going to show you today is a delightful and cute area very close to where I live that I just discovered a couple weeks ago. I had seen these colorful houses and lighthouse before during my walks at the other side of the Marina, but Dan and I never took the time to actually visit the village. I can’t believe it took us so long to go there, this little Fisherman’s Village has a lot of charm and definitely deserves some attention.

As you can see in the pictures, it is a beautiful place by the ocean to chill, catch some air and grab an ice cream. There are also blue benches on the waterfront where you can just sit, relax and look at the boats and water. It is definitely ideal for someone who wants private thinking time, while enjoying the gorgeous colors of the houses and the company of pelicans and see lions that are around.  The sunset from there is gorgeous, the whole village lights up during the Golden Hour and you can see the skyline reflect it on the Main Channel.

I might go there again this weekend, but this time I’ll leave the camera at home and grab a great book instead :)

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

Marina del Rey, California

I took so many pictures of this picturesque place that I decided to break them down in 2 posts. I’ll be posting some more tomorrow, so stay tuned!

Have a great day! :)
signature

37 thoughts on “FISHERMAN’S VILLAGE, a place to dream

  1. Amazing place you found there. Love the colors very joyful and dynamic. The light on your last one is gorgeous! Was curious to see how close it was from LA as I don’t like it very much (mildly put) and apparently the place you linked in Google was in Florida ;)
    I don’t doubt that your pictures will eventually reconcile me with LA ;)

    • Hi Sébastien! Thank you so much for your comment. The first time I came to LA as a tourist I didn’t like it very much either, but that changed once I moved here. There are so many places and little cities around to explore that are gorgeous, and LA itself has a lot of charm as well; you just need to know where to find it ;) I doubled check the link you mentioned and it appears right to me… that’s weird that you see a place in Florida! This little village is in Marina del Rey (LA county) – are you sure it shows up Florida?
      I’m so glad you liked the pictures, there are some more coming up! :) Have a great weekend!

      • Thanks for your answer Yael, I’m glad to see I’m not the only one that had issues with LA. My biggest grip with LA is that it is too streched out to me and I didn’t feel a sense of identity. Having to drive from one place to the other and be stuck in traffic was a nightmare.
        Anyways, I’m glad you showed us such a nice place.
        I found the “issue” with the link. It looks like that when you click the “get directions” button the Marina Del Rey part gets drop and I assume that after that it looks for the closest “fisherman’s village”
        Have a nice week end too and thank you for bringing the beach to NY ;)

  2. I used to love going there about 35 yrs ago and going through the shops and buying candy apples. The last time I went most of the shops were closed and the area needed some cleaning up. From your pictures it looks beautiful now. I’m going to have to make a trip there. At least the ice cream place is still there.

Leave a Reply

