CAN YOU PICTURE A WORLD WITHOUT COLOR?

colors, flower, nature

Have you ever thought about how different your life would be if you couldn’t see colors? Can you imagine a world without them? Probably not. I’m sure if I ask all of you to do the exercise, most will picture a world that is equivalent to living in a black and white television, where there is not much variation and everything looks plain and boring. But think about it one more second… aren’t different shades of black, grey and white colors too? The absence of color is an impossible concept to imagine for me, even if I try it with all my might. Color is always on something, but we often take it for granted and miss its wonders.

What would the world be like without the magic colors of a rainbow? What would the world be like if people weren’t black, brown, yellow or white skinned? Would diversity exist without color? What would the world be like if we couldn’t see the bright blue of the ocean or the sky? Would the horizon exist? Would we appreciate the beauty of a sunrise or a sunset? What would the world be like without the color of the flowers? Would mother nature be so wonderful? Would we able to enjoy the following colored photos?

There are many things we would not be able to experience fully if there were no colors. They make our lives much more interesting and diverse, and today, I’m just grateful for not having to live without them.

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

 

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

colors, flower, nature

IMG_4996

colors, flower, nature

“The purest and most thoughtful minds are those which love colour the most.”

- John Ruskin

Happy Veterans Day!

 

signature

30 thoughts on “CAN YOU PICTURE A WORLD WITHOUT COLOR?

    • Thank you so much, you’re always so good to me! It’s so easy to take nice pictures when you’re surrounded by beauty, these are from last weekend at Palos Verdes. I was editing them when the thought of imagine a world without color popped in my mind. Colors are something we all take for granted, and sometimes it’s necessary to realize how lucky we are to be able to see them shine :)

      • I love this comment, but I think there is some beauty in how he may see the world too. Beauty is all about one’s perspective-how something touches the soul. I imagine those that are unable to see color, whether color blind or blind in general , find beauty in the most unexpected and humbling ways. All of that goes without saying, I am so thankful for color, and that I am able to enjoy it each and every day!

  1. It’s funny, I dress in monochromatic colors. Black, grey, white, etc. But I want the world around me (and my home) to be super colorful.! Purples, reds, greens.!!! Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos.! They made me smile :)

    • We are in the same boat here Rose. I definitely feel more comfortable when I dress in black or mate colors, but I wouldn’t like the world to be like that! Colors have a huge impact on my mood, just like music or the weather! :)

  2. Love the pictures! Thanks for giving me the link! And you’re right, colors are so important! But much like the sun, we usually take them for granted. It’s a shame we are so occupied with numbers and stocks and politics and what-have-you. If life were slower we might have more of a chance to connect more dots in our lives. Here’s to the je ne sais quoi of mother earth!

Leave a Reply

