PALOS VERDES, the best-kept secret of LA

Palos Verdes, California

Last weekend my friends and I went to visit Palos Verdes – a place you only see in postcards. It’s one of the best kept secrets in the LA area, not many people know about this little heaven on earth, which makes it the perfect place to go and relax all day. The ocean views from the lighthouse are breathtaking, beaches are absolutely gorgeous and in clear days you can even see Catalina Island shinning along the horizon. I really want to go back, take the ferry and visit that island all day long. Palos Verdes is also a good place to go hike down the rolling bluffs and beaches falling into the sea that surrounds the peninsula. I can’t wait to go back soon, plan a potluck date with my international friends and do some more exploring!

Oh, this little peninsula also has a gorgeous Botanical Garden that we had the pleasure to visit. This place was huge, and there were several themed areas: rose garden, japanese garden, cactus area, mediterranen garden, and some other names I can’t remember. There was even a small lake in the middle with some ducks hanging out there. It was already late when we arrived at this place so we didn’t have enough time to visit all the gardens; but being surrounded by beautiful flowers was the perfect way to end an amazing day.

Finally, I don’t want to forget to mention that the other day was the first time I met one of my favorite bloggers in person! Julie is a Belgian girl who is currently working as an aupair in Redondo Beach and also loves photography. Although she’s a Nikon user (grrr!), we have a lot of things in common and we got along just perfectly! She couldn’t have been cooler, funnier or more beautiful, and we spent about four hours talking, exploring Palos Verdes and practicing our photography skills. Β She’s a lot of fun, go and check out her blog to know more about her!

Palos Verdes, California

Palos Verdes, California

Palos Verdes, California

Palos Verdes, California

Cacti are beautiful plants, but also dangerous… This is me plucking out some cactus thorns from Nico’s hands.

Palos Verdes, California

Palos Verdes, California

Palos Verdes, California

botanical garden

Here there are some pictures I took at the Botanical Garden. I’ll be posting more in the next few days, stay tuned! :)

Flowers, Botanical Garden

Flowers, Botanical Garden

Photography

Botanical Garden

Botanical Garden, Fall

Flowers, Botanical Garden, Purple

Botanical Garden

Botanical Garden, International Friends

Have a nice day!

signature

30 thoughts on “PALOS VERDES, the best-kept secret of LA

  1. I loved spending the day with you guys! Great group of people, great taking pictures with other people who are passionate about photography and beautiful views! Hope to see you very soon! My blog post about this will be up in a couple of days! xx

  2. Beautiful pics! But what are the two girls behind you on the trail doing? Peeing? Ha ha.
    I haven’t been there, or Catalina Island, I’ve only seen the island from the plane when taking of from LAX. Someday!

    • Your comment made me laugh out loud haha! You know a person is a photographer when she or he can’t stop making awkward poses – they were taking pics of the leaves. Two minutes later it was me who was “peeing” on the trail haha! Good thing they didn’t catch me on camera ;)

      • Just now seeing your comment. I’m glad you got a laugh! And I’m glad nobody caught you “peeing” hahaha!
        As a videographer, I can’t help but look at pictures and TV shows with an eye for everything going on – including what’s going on in the background. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

